## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, April 23, 1953. (27)

The Special Committee on Defence Expenditure met this day at 11.30 o'clock a.m. Mr. David A. Croll, Chairman, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Adamson, Applewhaite, Benidickson, Blanchette, Boisvert, Cavers, Croll, Decore, Dickey, Fleming, Fulton, George, Harkness, Herridge, Hunter, Jutras, Larson, McIlraith, Pearkes, Stick, Thomas and Wright (22).

In attendance: Messrs. R. G. Johnson and J. Kendall of Defence Construction (1951) Limited; Messrs. H. A. Davis and W. R. Wright of the Department of National Defence.

The Chairman tabled replies to questions by Messrs. Applewhaite, George and Herridge, namely:

- 1. Recovery of rental from D.O.T. for four P.M.Q.'s at Churchill.
- 2. Size and capacity of chapel at Churchill.
- 3. Distribution of sewerage disposal plant at Churchill.

The above were ordered printed. (See Appendices Nos. 83, 84 and 85).

The Chairman announced that arrangements were being made for a visit to a radar establishment on Wednesday, April 29th next. He instructed the Clerk forthwith to circularize the members with the program for that day.

Mr. Johnson was called and examined on his memoranda on Namao, Cold Lake and Rocky Point.

Mr. Davis was also called and supplied answers with respect to R.C.A.F. personnel at Cold Lake, Cantilever Hangars and Naval Magazines.

Mr. Davis undertook to table at the next meeting answers not readily available.

Although the Committee concluded its examination of the witnesses on construction, it decided to devote part of the next meeting to further examination of the witnesses.

Referring to the Second Report of the Sub-Committee on Agenda (printed on page 77), Mr. Fleming renewed a previous request and urged that the Committee take evidence on expenditures for the production and acquisition of aircraft.

After discussion, the Chairman felt that the Committee would have sufficient time to make a thorough examination.

At 1.05 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to meet again on Tuesday, April 28, at 11.30 a.m.

ANTONIO PLOUFFE, Clerk of the Committee.