

1

## PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 4

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25, 1956

An Agreement between Canada and Finland for waiving visa fees has been signed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mr. L.B. Pearson, and Dr. Sigurd von Numers, the Chargé d'Affaires of the Legation of Finland in Ottawa. The Agreement will come into force February 1, 1956.

Under the Agreement, Canadian and Finnish nationals seeking temporary entry to Finland or Canada, respectively, will be issued visas free of charge. It is expected the conclusion of this arrangement will facilitate travel between Canada and Finland.

With the completion of this Agreement, Canada now has Visa Agreements with sixteen countries. Canada has entered into Visa Modification Agreements with Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, The Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium, Liechtenstein, Denmark, France, Switzerland and the Federal Republic of Germany whereby Canadian citizens are permitted entry without visas. In addition, Agreements have been entered into with Austria, Japan, Norway, Israel and now Finland under which Canadian citizens are granted visas free of charge for entry into these countries.