## REGIONAL BUREAUX

## Africa and the Middle East

The Bureau of African and Middle Eastern Affairs comprises the African Affairs I, African Affairs II and Middle Eastern Affairs Divisions.

## African Affairs (I) Division

The strengthening of Canada's relations with the countries of English-speaking Africa was actively pursued in 1971. Canada maintains diplomatic relations with 15 countries in this region, having resident missions in six capitals. Of the countries concerned, five have resident missions in Ottawa.

The problems of southern Africa -- apartheid, Namibia (South West Africa), Rhodesia and the Portuguese territories continued to be of great concern to the Canadian Government. Close attention was paid to such events and questions as the International Court of Justice decision on Namibia, Black African dialogue with South Africa, and Britain's renewed negotiations with Rhodesia.

Canadian policy toward southern Africa continues to follow the guidelines laid down in the 1970 policy review, entitled Foreign Policy for Canadians, which concluded that Canada's interests would best be served by maintaining a balance between social justice and economic growth. While Canada will continue to trade in peaceful goods with South Africa, as indeed with all countries and territories regardless of political considerations (save, of course, Rhodesia, since Canada supports the 1968 United Nations Security Council sanctions against that country), it will no longer allow the export of arms, military equipment, spare parts or ammunition for use by South African military or para-military forces. The Government has also decided to increase economic assistance to Black Africa, especially to those states bordering on areas dominated by white minorities in order to help them develop their own institutions and resources. The Government remains a firm supporter of the United Nations Educational and Training Program for Southern Africa. As a further demonstration of its continuing support for the cause of freedom and equality in Southern Africa, the Government will shortly open a diplomatic mission in Lusaka, Zambia.

Canada's position on Southern African questions at the United Nations has reflected these policies. Canada has supported sanctions against Rhodesia, as well as the principle of "no independence before majority rule" (NIBMAR). It has for several years applied an arms embargo to sales of military equipment to the Portuguese territories, and it gives no military assistance to Portugal under North Atlantic Treaty Organization mutual aid. Canada has joined in the condemnation of apartheid, supported the voluntary Security Council arms embargo against South Africa, voted in favour of the termination of South Africa's mandate over Namibia and, in pursuance of Security Council Resolution 283 (1970), informed South Africa that it regards its continued administration of the territory as illegal.