particularly with respect to the latter capacity, the Dominion would have an agent and a spokesman in each province, the anticipated federal influence has, in fact, proved in the long run to be of little consequence. It is recognized, and has indeed been affirmed by the Governor General in Council, that, in the matter of assenting to or withholding assent to a bill passed by a provincial legislature, the authority of the Crown should be exercised and administered in conformity with the settled constitutional principles of responsible government.

Thus the machinery of government is substantially the same in each province as that of the Federal Government. The formal powers of the lieutenant-governor must again be read in conjunction with the long-established doctrine of responsible government; these powers are in practice exercised only by and with the advice of a provincial cabinet, which is responsible to the legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body.

In the same manner as has been described for the federal level, there is for each province a "first minister", or premier, who is the leader of a political party, who has been requested by the lieutenant-governor to form the government. The premier chooses his cabinet and, with them, forms the real executive of the province, determining priorities, defining policies, and initiating most public legislation within provincial competence.

The legislatures

The legislatures of all of the provinces are unicameral, consisting of the lieutenant-governor and an elected legislative assembly. Two provinces originally had bicameral legislatures. Prince Edward Island had a legislature consisting of two houses, known as the Executive Council and the Legislative Council, but in 1893 the province combined both in a single Legislative Assembly. The same consolidation occurred in 1968 in Quebec, where the appointed Legislative Council and the elected Legislative Assembly were replaced by the National Assembly, which is an elected body.

The maximum duration of an elected legislative assembly was originally fixed by the British North America Act, 1867, at four years, but Ontario and Quebec have enacted legislation permitting a fiveyear maximum term in those provinces. Of course, a legislature may be dissolved earlier by the lieutenant-governor of a province on the advice of the premier, in the same way as the House of Commons of Canada may be dissolved.

The source of legislative authority for the provincial legislatures is the British North America Act, 1867, as amended. Under Section

14