Browes (Mrs.)

Mr. Turner (Vancouver Quadra): You asked me a question, Mr. Speaker. I want to say that the Government side forced this vote which would have put the authority of the Speaker in jeopardy. We will not consent and we want-

Mr. Speaker: Order, please.

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Speaker: Such an interpretation is not consistent with our traditions.

Mr. Hnatyshyn: Mr. Speaker, I think that the way in which you articulated the circumstances is clearly the way things transpired. Unfortunately, there were not enough Members to rise in their places in order to have the vote. We are prepared to go ahead. We have been prepared to go ahead with the reference and with this matter for some days now. We are prepared to have a reasoned debate on this issue and I assure you, Mr. Speaker, that the people of Canada will understand our position.

Mr. Speaker: Order. The Hon. Member for Hamilton Mountain does not need to indicate consent because it has been refused.

Mr. Deans: Mr. Speaker, I have two concerns. One is that never since 1931 has consent for the moving of such a motion been denied by a Government. Therefore, the red herring of the 20-Member stipulation is quite obviously a stalling tactic on the part of the Government in an attempt to make it look as if it were in favour of having such a debate.

More importantly, I hope that nothing which has transpired here will stop this debate. It is an emergency matter and one that should be debated in the House of Commons.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I understand that the Hon. Member was seeking consent and that that consent has been refused. The Hon. Member for Hamilton Mountain has requested leave to move the adjournment of the House for the purposes of discussing a specific matter requiring urgent consideration; namely, the financial difficulties of the Northland Bank. The question is that leave be given to the Hon. Member to move such motion.

The House divided on the request (Mr. Deans) which was acceded to on the following division:

(Division No. 112)

YEAS Messrs.

Althouse Andre Attewell Axworthy Baker Beatty Belsher Benjamin Bernier Bertrand (Mrs.) Binns Bissonnette Blackburn (Brant) Blackburn (Jonquière)

Blaikie Blais Blenkarn Blouin (Mrs.) Bradley Brightwell Brisco Broadbent

	S.O.	3
	Messrs.	
Hamelin		
Hawkes		

Caccia Caldwell Cardiff Cassidy Champagne (Mrs.) (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot) Charest Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Coates Collins (Mrs.) Comeau Cook Cooper Corbett Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Crofton Crombie Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Dantzer Darling Daubney Deans de Corneille de Cotret de Jong Dick Dingwall Domm Duplessis (Mrs.) Ellis Epp (Provencher) Ferland Fontaine Forrestall Foster Fraleigh Fretz Friesen Frith Gagnon Gass Gauthier Gervais Gottselig Graham Gravel Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Gustafson Halliday

Heap Henderson Hicks Hnatyshyn Hockin Holtmann Hopkins Horner Hovdebo Howie Hudon Isabelle Jardine Jelinek Jepson Jewett (Ms.) Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joncas Jourdenais Kempling Kilgour Killens (Mrs.) Kindy King Ladouceur Langdon Lanthier Lapierre Lawrence Layton Leblanc Lewis Lopez MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacKay MacLellan Mailly (Mrs.) Malone Manly Mantha Marchi Mayer Mazankowski McCrossan McCurdy McDermid McDougall (Mrs.) (St. Paul's) McInnes McKenzie McKinnon McKnight McLean McMillan Minaker Mitchell (Ms.) Mitges Moore Murphy

Nicholson (Miss) (Trinity) Nicholso (Niagara Falls) Nielsen Nowlan Nunziata Nystrom Oberle Oostrom Orlikow Quellet Paproski Penner Pépin (Mrs.) Peterson Pietz Plourde Porter Price Prud'homme Ravis Redway Riis Robichaud Rodriguez Rossi St. Germain Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Skelly Sparrow (Mrs.) Stackhouse Stevens Tardif (Mrs.) (Charlesbourg) Tobin Toupin Towers Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Turner (Vancouver Quadra) Vankoughnet Vincent Waddell Warner Wenman

Wilson (Swift Current-

Wilson

Wise

Witer

Winegard

Young-189.

Maple Creek)

(Etobicoke Centre)

NAYS Messrs.

nil

Mr. Speaker: I was hoping for a tie. Accordingly, debate on the proposed motion will stand over until eight o'clock p.m. this day.