

CANADIAN MISSION TO THE UNITED NATIONS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE No. 59

August 22, 1966

Press Office, 750 Third Avenue, YUkon 6-5740

Composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Twenty-first Regular Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations

The Prime Minister of Canada, the Right Honourable Lester B. Pearson, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Twenty-first Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which will open in New York on September 20, 1966. The following have been appointed:

The Hon. Paul Martin, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

- Secretary of State for External Affairs, Chairman of the Delegation.

H.E. Mr. George Ignatieff

- Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations Vice-Chairman of the Delegation.

Mr. Donald S. MacDonald

- Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs
Member of Parliament for Rosedale-Toronto.

Mr. Pierre Elliot Trudeau

- Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Member of Parliament for Mount Royal.

Mrs. Edwin Fullerton

- Member of Board of Control, London, Ontario.

Professor R. St. John Macdonald - Professor of Law, University of Toronto.

Lt.Gen. E. L. M. Burns, D.S.O., O.B.E., M.C. - Ambassador and Adviser to the Canadian Government on Disarmament.

Mr. Max Wershof

 Legal Adviser and Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.