Occasional Papers are published periodically by the Institute as part of its mandate to increase knowledge and understanding of issues relating to international peace and security. These monographs aim for both scholarly excellence and policy relevance, and deal with subjects that fall within the areas defined in the Institute's mandate: arms control, disarmament, defence and conflict resolution.

Opinions expressed in these papers are those of the authors, and do not necessarily represent those of the Institute and its Board of Directors.

Series Editors: Nancy Gordon Fen Osler Hampson Roger Hill

Managing Editor: Michael Bryans

Associate Editors: Hélène Samson Mary Taylor

Advisory Board: Timothy J. Colton Robert W. Cox Michael W. Doyle Margaret Doxey James Eayrs Ronald J. Fisher R.J. Lane Richard Ned Lebow George Lindsey Sverre Lodgaard Judith Maxwell Gérard Pelletier Condoleezza Rice Douglas A. Ross Louis Sabourin Janice Gross Stein