sion comprises the counties of Sydney and Cumberland, and part of that of Halifax. The Middle division consists of Hants, King's, Lunenburg, and Queen's Counties. The Western division includes Annapolis and Shelburne Counties. The Cape-Breton division comprehends the whole Island, which forms but one county. The Halifax division embraces only part of the county of that name, and includes the townships of Halifax, Lawrencetown and Pres-There are ten Counties-Halifax, Sydney, ton. Cumberland, Hants, King's, Lunenburg, Queen's, Annapolis, Shelburne, and Cape-Breton, which are again subdivided into districts and townships. As these terms are peculiar to America, and differ in many places in their signification, it may be proper to add, that in this country, a division is merely a circuit, containing one or more counties. When professional men were appointed to preside in the Courts of Common Pleas and General Sessions of the Peace, circuits was allotted to each of them, which were then called and have since been known as divisions-a term which has no other import than as connected with their duties. A district contains one or more townships, and is a subdivision of a county rendered necessary by its extent. It is, therefore, for the convenience of the people, set a part, and has the privilege conferred upon it of having a Court of General Sessions of the Peace, for the regulation of all its internal affairs. Each District is or should be furnished with a Court-House, but the Jail belongs to the County. The Sheriff's authority is commensurate with the County, and the Commissions of the Peace extend throughout the same .---