An Act to detach a certain portion of the Township of Arthabaska from the District of Three Rivers, and annex the same to the District of Quebec.

HEREAS Théophile Hébert, Joseph Champoux, David Varville, Preamble. David Prince, Olivier Lambert, Cyrille Arseneau, Noel Hébert, Moise Basil, Joseph Poulain, Charles Poisson, David LaBonté, Joseph Houle, and Pièrre Champoux, proprietors and occupants of the 14th range; 3 William Gosselin, Pièrre Nolin, senior, Pièrre Nolin, junior, Louis Gonzaque Pélécin, Pierre Viguauet, Xavier Roberge, Louis Roberge, Damase Roberge, and Julien Roberge, proprietors and occupants of the 15th range; William Gosselin, Prospere Morin, David Bourque, and Jean Tardif, proprietors and occupants of the 16th range; and the above mentioned William Gosselin. 10 proprietor in the 17th range, and also, the inhabitants of the part of the 13th range situate to the north of the river, in the Township of Arthabaska, have applied to the Legislature setting forth that they are exposed to great inconvenience from being comprised within the limits of the Township of Arthabaska, in the County of Arthabaska, and District of 15 Three Rivers, inasmuch as they are separated therefrom by one of the branches of the River Nicolet, (River du Loup) the sudden and fregent rising of which prevents them from maintaining a regular communication with the chef lieu of the Township and County of Arthabaska to attend to their scholar, municipal, electoral and judicial business, and, further, 20 that the said 14th, 15th, 16th and 17th ranges of the Township of Arthabaska have been annexed, by a canonical decree, to the mission of Ste. Sophie, in the Township of Halifax, in the County of Megantic, and Diocese of Quebec, and have prayed that the lands they occupy, commonly called the "Pointe d'Arthabaska," may be detached from the Township 25 and County of Arthabaska, and the District of Three Rivers, and be annexed to the Township of Halifax, in the County of Megantic, and the District of Quebec: Therefore Her Majesty, &c., enacts as follows:

I. From and after the first day of January 1858, the fourteenth, fifteenth, La Pointe sixteenth and seventeenth ranges of the Township of Arthabaska, com- d'Arthabaska 30 prehending that tract of land commonly called the "Pointe d'Ar-annexed to the thabaska," and that part of the same Township situate to the north of Halifax, and Rivière du Loup, shall be detached from the Township and County of County of Arthabaska, in the District of Three Rivers, and be annexed to the Town-Megantic. ship of Halifax, in the County of Megantic, and District of Quebec, for all 35 municipal, electoral, judicial and registration purposes, in the same manner, to all intents and purposes, as though the above mentioned part of the Township of Arthabaska had always formed part of the said Township of Halifax, County of Megantic and District of Quebec.