Mr. E. A. Godby

(Chairman)

Dr. F. J. Bonn

Mr. L. Peters

Order Paper Questions

Science and Technology): In so far as the National Research Council is concerned, the answer is as follows:

The Incubator Program has been in existence at the National Research Council since 1979. It is one of several mechanisms that the National Research Council uses to promote the transfer of technology to industry.

Under the Incubator Program Canadian companies are allowed to use the National Research Council premises and facilities so that they may interact closely with the Council's scientific and engineering staff. Participating companies locate a number of their scientific staff (usually from 1 to 10) at the National Research Council for a limited period, normally two to three years.

Companies are accommodated only if existing space and staff resources permit. There must be a close link between the technical assistance needed by the firm and the expertise available at the National Research Council. Preference is given to small, recently established Canadian companies working on high-risk, advanced technology projects that would benefit from NRC technical guidance and assistance.

The incubator program does not provide direct financial support to the company.

EM&R-ENERGY PROGRAM

Question No. 135-Mr. Skelly:

With reference to the Supplementary Estimates B, for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1984, Energy, Mines and Resources-Department-Energy Program, did the Government transfer \$50 million from the Canadian Home Insulation Program (Vote 15) to the Petroleum Incentives Program (Vote 25b) and, if so, for what reason?

Mr. Dave Dingwall (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources): The Department of Energy, Mines and Resources reports as follows:

Yes, \$50 million was transferred from the Canadian Home Insulation Program (CHIP) to the Petroleum Incentives Program (PIP) because payments under CHIP have been less than allowed for in the 1983-84 Estimates. However, the funds underutilized in 1983-84 are still available for 1984-85 or future years.

CANADIAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REMOTE SENSING

Question No. 169-Mr. Mazankowski:

1. Is there a Canadian Advisory Committee on Remote Sensing and, if so (a) who are the members (b) what is the (i) background or expertise (ii) term of appointment of each member (c) what remuneration, such as salary or travel expenses, do the members receive and, for the length of each appointment to date, what amount did each member receive (d) what other funding, if any, is provided by the Government?

2. (a) What are the terms of reference of the Committee (b) what matters did it consider in the fiscal year 1982-83 (c) how often did it meet and how often is it required to meet (d) what reports and/or recommendations did the Committee publish in the fiscal year 1982-83?

Mr. Dave Dingwall (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources): The Department of Energy, Mines and Resources reports as follows:

1. Yes. (a) and (b) (i) Membership in the Canadian Advisory Committee on Remote Sensing (CACRS) comprises representatives of provincial and federal organizations, industry and universities. Most members represent a government agency or national working group and thus ensure a broad representation of users, scientists and technologists.

CACRS Executive (Representatives from the provinces and the working groups).

Director General,

Canada Centre for Remote Sensing.

Directeur, Laboratoire de télédétection,

The Maritime Remote Sensing Committee.

Water Resources Branch, Department of the Environment.

(Chairman)	EM&R.
Mr. F. Hegyi	Director, Inventory Branch, Ministry of Forests, Province of British Columbia.
Mr. W. G. Best	Chief, Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing Renewable Resources and Transportation, Manitoba Government.
Mr. V. Zsilinszky	Associate Director, Ontario Centre for Remote Sensing, Ministry of Natural Resources, Ontario Government.
Dr. J. M. Zarzycki	Director, Development Division, Surveys and Mapping Branch, EM&R.
Mr. V. R. Slaney	Resource Geophysics and Geochemistry Division, Geological Survey of Canada, EM&R.

The Interprovincial/Territorial Advisory Subcommittee (IPTASC) (Representatives appointed to CACRS on the recommendation of the provinces and territories).

Université de Sherbrooke.

Mr. F. Hegyi (Chairman)	Director, Inventory Branch, Ministry of Forests, Province of British Columbia.
Mr. W. G. Best (Vice-Chairman)	Chief, Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, Renewable Resources and Transportation, Manitoba Government.
M. Hervé Audet	Coordinateur provincial, Télédétection, Ministère de l'Energie et des Ressources, Gouvernement du Québec.
Dr. J. L. Bergsteinsson	Chairman, Saskatchewan Research Council.
Mr. Cal D. Bricker	Administrator, Alberta Remote Sensing Center, Alberta Government.
Mr. I. E. Ford	Special Projects Division, Department of Development, Government of Newfoundland.
Dr. D. Gillis	Engineering Faculty, University of Prince Edward Island.
Mr. A. L. Hodgson	Resource Planning Branch, Government of Yukon.
Mr. E. M. MacAulay	Chairman,