Legal Affairs of Bill C-19, An Act respecting employment with the Government of Canada not covered by the Public Service Employment Act:

Mr. Orlikow, seconded by Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre), moved,—That the said bill be now read a second time and be referred to the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.

And debate arising thereon;

The hour for Private Members' Business expired.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Pepin, seconded by Mr. Basford,—That Bill C-201, An Act to provide for the review and assessment of acquisitions of control of Canadian business enterprises by certain persons, be now read a second time and be referred to the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

And debate continuing;

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At 10.00 o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Messrs. Skoreyko, Gundlock, Grills, Cadieu and Schumacher for Messrs. Murta, McKinley, Moore, Downey and Mazankowski on the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

Messrs. Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) and Pringle for Messrs. Cafik and Whicher on the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

Mr. Orlikow for Mr. Broadbent on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Messrs. Clermont and Breau for Messrs. Blouin and Cullen on the Standing Committee on National Resources and Public Works.

Mr. Nystrom for Mr. Broadbent on the Standing Committee on Regional Development.

Mr. MacDonald (Egmont) for Mr. Nesbitt on the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

Messrs. Ryan and Peddle for Messrs. MacDonald (Egmont) and Paproski on the Standing Committee on External Affairs and National Defence.

Messrs. Forget and La Salle for Messrs. McNulty and Turner (London East) on the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration.

Messrs. Stewart (Cochrane), Guilbault, De Bané and Roy (Timmins) for Messrs. Portelance, Forget, Lachance and Robinson on the Standing Committee on Broadcasting, Films and Assistance to the Arts.

At 10.25 o'clock p.m., the House adjourned until tomorrow at 2.00 o'clock p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 2(1).