International Court of Justice

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election. To provide for rotation, however, the Statute of the Court states that of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and sixyear periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of the first election, February 6, 1946.

first election, February 6, 1946. The present judges of the Court, with the year their term of office ends, are

Fad of Torm

as follows:

Juage Ena of	1 erm
Green H. Hackworth, President, of	
the United States	1961
Abdel Hamid Badawi Pasha, Vice-	
President, of Egypt	1958
John E. Read, of Canada	1958
Hsu Mo, of China	1958
Bohdan Winiarski, of Poland	1958
Milovan Zoricic, of Yugoslavia	1958
Helge Klaestad, of Norway	1961
Muhammed Zafrulla Khan, of Pakis-	
tan	1961
Feodor Ivanovich Kojevnikov, of	
the U.S.S.R	1961
E. C. Armand-Ugon, of Uruguay	1961
L. M. Moreno Quintana, of Argen-	
tina	1964
José Gustavo Guerrero, of El Sal-	
vador	1964
Jules Basdevant, of France	1964
Roberto Cordova, of Mexico	1964
Hersch Lauterpacht, of the United	
Kingdom	1964

Disarmament Commission¹

Permanent	Non-Permanent
Members	Members (2-year term)
Canada	Serving until
China	December 31, 1954:
France	Colombia
Union of Soviet	Denmark
Socialist	Lebanon
Republics	Serving until
United Kingdom	December 31, 1955:
United States	Brazil
Cinica States	New Zealand
	Turkey
T.	Serving until
	December 31, 1956:
	Belgium
	Iran

¹ This Commission was established on January 11, 1952 by the General Assembly to function under and report to the Security Council. See Canada and the United Nations 1951-1952, Appendix 5, pp. 157-158.

Peru

Serving until December 31, 1957: Australia Cuba Yugoslavia

Appendix II

Principal Meetings of the United Nations and Specialized Agencies, July 1954 to December 1955 and Canadian representation at the sessions of the General Assembly.

General Assembly

Ninth regular session, New York, September 21-December 17, 1954 — Representatives: Chairman: the Hon. L. B. Pearson, Secretary of State for External Affairs; Vice-Chairman, the Hon. Paul Martin, Minister of National Health and Welfare; Senator C. B. Howard; D. M. Johnson, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations; Mr. G. D. Weaver, M.P. Alternate Representatives: Mr. L. Cardin, M.P., Mrs. K. G. Montgomery; Mr. Charles Stein, Under-Secretary of State; Mr. K. P. Kirkwood; Mr. S. D. Hemsley.

Tenth regular session, New York, September 20-December 20, 1955 — Representatives: Chairman: the Hon. Paul Martin, Minister of National Health and Welfare; the Hon. J. J. McCann, Minister of National Revenue; Dr. R. A. MacKay, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations; Senator J. G. Turgeon; Mrs. J. Houck. Alternate Representatives: Senator W. M. Wall²; Mr. M. Breton, M.P.³; Lt.-Col. O. Gilbert; Mr. J. W. Holmes; Mr. P. Conroy.

¹ Upon the departure from the Delegation of the Hon. J. J. McCann, the Hon. Roch Pinard, Secretary of State replaced him.

² Upon the departure of Senator W. M. Wall, Mr. W. G. Weir, M.P. acted as Alternate Representative.

³ Upon the departure of Mr. M. Breton, he was succeeded by Mr. P. Valois, M.P.

Economic and Social Council

Eighteenth session, Geneva, June 29-August 6, 1954. Resumed Eighteenth session, New York, November 5-December 16, 1954.

Nineteenth session, New York, March 29-April 7, and May 16-27, 1955.

Twentieth session, Geneva, July 5-August 5, 1955. Resumed Twentieth session, New York, December 5-15, 1955.

Trusteeship Council

Fifteenth session, New York, January 25-March 28, 1955.
Sixteenth session, New York, June 8-July

22, 1955.

Fifth Special session, New York, November 21-December 14, 1955.