WEDNESDAY, 7th February, 1821.

PRAYERS.

A Message from His Excellency the Lieutenant-Governor, by the Secretary, as follows:

" NEW-BRUNSWICK.
" MESSAGE TO THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY,
" 7TH FEBRUARY, 1821.

" G. S. SMYTH.

"The Lieutenant-Governor directs to be laid before the House of Assembly, a copy of a Letter from Earl Bathurst, in answer to the Address of the Assembly, respecting reserves in the County of Charlotte."

The copy of the Letter referred to in His Excellency's Message, is as follows: (COPY.)

" Downing-Street, 3d May, 1820.

"Sir,

"I have the honour to acknowledge the receipt of your Letter of the 4th March last, transmitting an Address from the House of Assembly of New-Brunswick, praying that the reserve may be removed from certain Lands in the County of Charlotte, well calculated for Agricultural purposes; and to acquaint you, that I have referred your Letter with its inclosures, to the Surveyor-General of Woods in North America, for his report, whether the tract in question so abounds with Pine as to make its reservation important to the public interests, as a necessary preliminary to a consideration of the request of the House of Assembly.

" I have the honour to be,

"SIR,

"Your most obedient humble Servant,
(Signed) "BATHURST."

" Lieutenant-Governor SMYTH."

The order of the day being read, the House according thereto resolved itself into a Committee of the whole House, on a bill "to provide for the services of the "Speaker of the House of Assembly, and for defraying the expenses and travelling charges of the Members of the said House attending in General Assembly."

Mr. Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Fraser took the Chair of the Committee.

Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

Mr. Frascr, from the Committee, reported that they had gone thro' the bill and had agreed to the same without any amendment:

That in the Committee the following resolution was moved by Mr. Johnston, and

seconded:

"Resolved that the first blank in the second clause of the bill, be filled up with the words "thirty pounds." Upon which the Committee divided, as follows:

YEAS.
Mr. CHIPMAN,
Mr. PETERS,
Mr. JOHNSTON,
Mr. RITCHIE,
Mr. SIMONDS,
Mr. WILMOT.

NAYS.
Mr. ALLEN,
Mr. CLARKE,
Mr. DOW,
Mr. MUNRO,
Mr. CAMPBELL,
Mr. M'KAY,
Mr. STUBS,
Mr. MILES,
Mr. PERLEY,
Mr. W. PETERS,
Mr. VAIL,
Mr. WETMORE,
Mr. AGNEW,