have shown an extraordinary interest in all religious matters, received an English Missionary Bishop in 1883. It does not fall within the scope of these pages to record the work of the Church of the United States, but it ought to be mentioned that Bishops were sent by that Church to China and Japan in 1844 and 1866 respectively.

Borneo and the Straits. Forty years ago, the enterprise of Rajah Sir J. Brooke made the Church acquainted with the needs and resources of the Island of Borneo, and the first Missionary, Dr.

McDougall, was consecrated in 1855 Bishop of Labuan and Sarawak; in 1869 the Straits Settlements were added by Letters Patent to this Diocese.

There are now in India six Dioceses and eight Bishops; and in addition to the Colonial See of Colombo, there are five Missionary Dioceses in the Eastern Seas.

In 1824, ten years after the foundation of the See of Calcutta, the Crown was moved to establish by Letters Patent the The West Dioceses of Jamaica and Barbados, which had been pro-Indies. posed in the reign of Queen Ann and abandoned on her The establishment of the Colonial Bishoprics Fund, in decease. 1841, gave a great impetus to the work, and in 1842 the Diocese of Barbados was subdivided, and the Sees of Antigua and Guiana were created by Letters Patent and suppor 1 by public funds. In 1861 the Diocese of Nassau was created, and supported in the same way. With the exception of the Diocese of Guiana those Sees have all been deprived of the Imperial funds on the strength of which they were established. For Jamaica, Antigua, and Nassau, endowments have been raised, while Barbados has again been placed in the position of a State Church by the local Legislature, and the Bishop receives an income secured from the taxes of the island. In 1872 the

Diocese of Trinidad was constituted by Royal Warrant, the Bishop being Rector of the Cathedral Church in Port of Spain. In 1836 the representations of Archdeacon Broughton, who had

Australia. spent five years in travelling over those parts of Australia which were then known to Englishmen, led to the establishment of the See of Australia, now known as the See of Sydney. In 1842 the island of Van Diemen's Land became, under Letters Patent, the Diocese of Tasmania, and five years later the Secs of Adelaide, Melbourne, and Newcastle were created. In 1857 the Diocese of Perth took Western Australia from the care of the Bishop of Adelaide; in 1859 the southern half of the Province of Queensland became the Diocese of Brisbane; in 1863 the Diocese of Goulburn was created; in 1867 the Diocese of Grafton and Armidale; in 1869 that of Bathurst. In 1875 the Province of Victoria was divided, and part of the See of Melbourne became the Sce of Ballaarat; in 1878 the Diocese of North Queensland was established, and in 1884 the Diocese of Riverina was founded. Thus from the single See of Australia, founded in 1836, there have been developed thirteen Dioceses, to whose endowment large contributions have been made by the Colonists themselves. The first clergyman that ever set foot on Australian shores was the Rev. R. Johnson, who landed in 1788. The Society sent two schoolmasters to New South