PASTORATE OF THE REV. JOHN THOMPSON (Continued)

Mackenzie, T. W. Nisbet, George Leys, Chas. Mackenzie, James King, D. N. Morrison and Morrison Hall. Mr. Blaikie was appointed chairman of this committee.

The work of enlarging the church and the erection of the Sabbath School building was carried on during the year 1880, the congregation worshipping in the Town Hall, and the Sabbath School and prayer-meeting being held in the Y. M. C. A. rooms. This arrangement continued until the last Sabbath of December, 1880. For about three months thereafter services were held in the new Sabbath School building. On the 24th of April, 1881, the enlarged church was opened for public worship, the services being conducted by the Rev. D. J. Macdonnell, D.D., of St. Andrew's Church, Toronto. It is very evident that the ladies of the congregation gave heroic assistance to the above undertaking. At the annual meeting on the 12th of April, 1883, it was moved by Mr. Robert Mackenzie, and seconded by Mr. F. Blaikie, "That the thanks of the congregation are eminently due and are hereby tendered to the ladies for their untiring and successful efforts to lighten the load of our indebtedness. They have not only assumed and handsomely discharged all accounts for furnishings of the church and school, and also for walks and fences, at a cost of about \$3,000, but have now surprised us by contributing \$500 to the Building Fund account."

On the 3rd of June, 1881, the following were ordained to the eldership: Messrs. John D. Murray, T. W. Nisbet,

Addition to the Session

Band

and Thomas Houston. In July of the same year a new division of elders' districts took place. Five districts, with two elders to each district, were agreed upon as being best suited for purposes of supervision.

The Mission Band was organized by Miss C. Cameron, and the first meeting was held on the 31st of October, 1883, twenty-two

young ladies being present. Miss Cameron was chosen as the first president, and after her death, The Mission

early in 1884, Miss Gemmill was appointed to that office. The first report of the Mission Band in 1884

shows the following list of officers: Miss Gemmill, president; Miss Gray, 1st vice-president; Miss Doak, 2nd vice-president; Miss Sinclair, secretary; Miss Minnie Mackenzie, treasurer.

The meetings were held on the first Wednesday of each month in the church parlor at 4.30 o'clock, p.m.

In April, 1886, the Senate of Knox College, Toronto conferred the degree of Doctor of Divinity upon the Rev. John Thompson of Sarnia, and the Rev. James Middlemiss of Elora. In both cases the honor had been well and worthily earned.