Accordingly, Canada voted against the resolution, which failed to achieve the required two-thirds majority; Canada abstained on a subsequent resolution, which carried, condemning South Africa's *apartheid* policy.

Three budgets to cover the costs of operation of ICAO for the years 1966, 1967 and 1968 were adopted. The net budgets (the totals to be paid by the contracting states, after miscellaneous revenue is deducted) are as follows (in U.S. dollars):

1966 — \$6,048,000. 1967 — \$5,559,000. 1968 — \$5,515,000.

A new 27-member Council was elected for a three-year term. The following states were chosen:

Argentina	Czechoslovakia	Mexico
Australia	Federal Republic of	Netherlands
	Germany	
Belgium	France	Nigeria
Brazil	India	Philippines
Britain	Italy	Spain
Canada	Japan	Sweden
Colombia	Kenya	Tunisia
Congo (Brazzaville)	Lebanon	United Arab Republic
Costa Rica	Malagasy Republic	United States of America

Canada has been a member of the Council since its establishment in 1947.

The general feeling of the delegates at the end of the Assembly on July 16 was that substantial progress had been made on a number of important technical problems affecting international civil aviation.