LEGAL QUALIFICATIONS

OF SENATORS AND MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE OF COMMONS. WHO ARE ELECTORS.

The Parliament of the Dominion consists of the Queen, a Senate of 72, appointed by the Crown for life, and a House of Commons of 181 members chosen by the people. The members of this Parliament are locally apportioned as follows:—

			Members of the
	Se	nators.	H. of Commons.
For	Ontario	24	82
"	Quebec*	24	65
46	Nova Scotia	12	19
**	New Brunswick	12	15

The number of Senators is fixed (except that six additional Senators may be appointed by the Crown); that of Members of the House of Commons is to vary according to the population ascertained at each decennial census, Quebec retaining the same number. Thus, supposing the calculation in our article on the census (respecting gradual increase of population) to be correct, the House of Commons will be thus constituted after 1871: Ontario, 98; Quebec, 65; Nova Scotia, 18; New Brunswick, 15; total 196. Term of

^{*} The Senators of Quebec are nominated one for each of 24 territorial districts, in which their property qualification must be.