Privilege-Mr. La Salle

that member is not in his seat to take the opportunity to comment in any way.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. On the last point raised by the minister, perhaps I should retrace what has taken place in respect of the motion. The first time the question was raised was after the hon. member had made his remarks. At that point I deferred the motion and consideration of the question of privilege until the following Monday. Because the hon, member was not in his place I again deferred it until Tuesday, at which time the House leader of that party, the hon. member for Lotbinière (Mr. Fortin), said he was prepared to have the matter discussed at that time

Under those circumstances, I feel the House has extended to the hon, member for Témiscamingue every opportunity to discuss the motion. The question, therefore, is on the motion of the hon, member for Joliette, seconded by the hon, member for Peace River (Mr. Baldwin):

That the charge made by the hon, member for Témiscamingue, namely, that hon, members bribed reporters from the press gallery, be referred to the Committee on Privileges and Elections.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. La Salle) which was agreed to on the following division:

(1420)

(Division No. 12)

YEAS Messrs

Alexander	Dinsdale	Huntington
Alkenbrack	Douglas	Jarvis
Baker	(Bruce)	Jelinek
(Grenville-Carleton)	Duclos	Johnston
Baldwin	Ellis	Jones
Balfour	Elzinga	Kempling
Bawden	Epp	Knowles
Beatty	Fairweather	(Winnipeg
Blackburn	Firth	North Centre)
Blais	Fleming	Knowles
Brewin	Forrestall	(Norfolk-Haldimand)
Broadbent	Friesen	Korchinski
Bussières	Gauthier	Lambert
Cafik	(Ottawa-Vanier)	(Edmonton West)
Clark	Gilbert	Landers
(Rocky Mountain)	Goodale	Lapointe
Clarke	Grafftey	La Salle
(Vancouver Quadra)	Halliday	Lawrence
Coates	Hamilton	Lee
Collenette	(Swift Current-	Leggatt
Condon	Maple Creek)	MacDonald
Cossitt	Hees	(Egmont)
Crouse	Hnatyshyn	MacDonald (Miss)
Darling	Holmes	(Kingston and the
Daudlin	Holt (Mrs.)	Islands)
Dick	Horner	MacKay

MacLean Macquarrie Maine Malone Marshall Masniuk Mazankowski McCain McGrath McKenzie McKinley

McKinnon McRae Milne Mitges Muir Munro

(Esquimalt-Saanich)

Messre

Schumacher Murta Scott Neil Smith Nowlan (Churchill) Nystrom Stanbury Oberle Orlikow Stevens O'Sullivan Stewart Paproski Patterson (Marquette) Towers Peters Wagner Raines Whiteway Roche Whittaker Rodriguez Wise Rooney Woolliams Saltsman Young-111 Schellenberger

NAYS

Messrs. Faulkner Abbott Andras Flynn (Port Arthur) Foster Andres Fox (Lincoln) Gendron Béchard Gillespie Bégin (Miss) Gover Boulanger Grav Breau Guav (St. Boniface) Caccia Campagnolo (Mrs.) Guilbault Campbell (Miss) Haidasz (South Western Nova) Herhert Campbell Honkins (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Isabelle Saint-Paul) Jamieson Caron Joyal Chrétien Lajoie Clermont Lalonde Comtois Lang Langlois Corbin Corriveau LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Cullen Lefehvre Lessard Суг Loiselle Danson De Bané (Chambly) Loiselle Demers (Saint-Henri) Dionne Lumley MacDonald (Northumberland-Miramichi) (Cardigan) Drury Duhé

MacEachen MacFarlane MacGuigan Mackasev Marceau

McIsaac Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Parent Pearsall Pelletier (Hochelaga) Philbrook Portelance Poulin Prud'homme Railton Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rompkey Roy (Laval) Spuvé (Mrs) Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Stollery Tessier Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Watson

Yanakis-93

Marchand

Martin

(Kamloops-Cariboo)

Ethier

Dupont

Dupras

Duquet

Mr. Speaker: Accordingly, I declare the motion carried. [Translation]

Mr. Fortin: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order to explain the absence of the hon. member for Témiscamingue (Mr. Caouette). He has been detained in Rouyn because of the strike in Montreal.

If we have not voted, it is because we did like the Chair, we relied on the decision of the House.

Mr. Pelletier (Sherbrooke): Mr. Speaker, I rise on a question of privilege. When voting today, I had the impression I was settling two matters at the same time and I think when you vote "yea" or "nay"-

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The hon. member must know that no comment can be permitted on the casting of any vote in the House.