Commons, to establish a Conflict of Interests Commission and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (See Minutes of Proceedings and Evidence, Thursday, December 12, 1991, Issue No.1).

The Committee resumed consideration of the Draft Report to the Senate and to the House of Commons.

At 5:47 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

THURSDAY, JUNE 4, 1992 (25)

The Special Joint Committee on Conflict of Interests met *in camera* at 9:48 o'clock a.m. this day, in Room 237–C, Centre Block, the Joint Chairmen, the Honourable Senator Richard J. Stanbury and Don Blenkarn presiding.

Members of the Committee present:

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators James F. Kelleher; Donald H. Oliver; H.A. Olson and Richard J. Stanbury.

Representing the House of Commons: Don Blenkarn; Don Boudria; Michael Breaugh; Catherine Callbeck; Clément Couture; Doug Fee; Robert Layton; Ricardo Lopez; John Nunziata and Marcel Prud'homme.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Margaret Young and Grant Purves, Research Officers. From the Parliamentary Centre for Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade: Barbara Kagedan, Consultant. From the Committee's Staff: Michael Clegg, Lawyer. From the Senate: Marie-Louise Paradis, Joint Clerk.

In accordance with its mandate, the Committee resumed consideration of the subject-matter of Bill C-43, An Act to provide for greater certainty in the reconciliation of the personal interests and duties of office of Members of the Senate and of the House of Commons, to establish a Conflict of Interests Commission and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (See Minutes of Proceedings and Evidence, Thursday, December 12, 1991, Issue No.1).

The Committee resumed consideration of the Draft Report to the Senate and to the House of Commons.

At 11:52 o'clock a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

TUESDAY, JUNE 9, 1992 (26)

The Special Joint Committee on Conflict of Interests met *in camera* at 3:21 o'clock p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Joint Chairmen, the Honourable Senator Richard J. Stanbury and Don Blenkarn presiding.

Members of the Committee present:

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Pierre De Bané; Normand Grimard; James F. Kelleher; Donald H. Oliver and Richard J. Stanbury.