Commission on Education and Youth recommended in 1967 the establishment of community colleges. There are two institutes of technology.

Prince Edward Island: Until 1969 there were two universities in the province - St. Dunstan's, with degree-granting powers conferred in 1941, and Prince of Wales, which received this power in 1965. The two institutions were merged in 1969 to form the University of Prince Edward Island. There is no grants commission; at present, the government deals directly with the university board of governors. The province created its first community college, Holland College, in 1969.

Nova Scotia: A grants commission was established in 1963. It issues annual reports containing recommendations to the universities and the government. In 1969, Dalhousie University and Nova Scotia Technical College entered into an agreement to co-operate in their architecture and engineering programs. There are eight community colleges in Nova Scotia, ranging from a private junior college to a marine navigation school.

New Brunswick: Following the report of a committee on the financing of higher education (1967), a commission on post-secondary education was set up. This body includes a chairman and eight members representing education, business, professions and labor. Its purpose is to advise the government on the needs and future development of all forms of post-secondary education, and to plan the future with the institutions. The commission is responsible for the actual payment of government operating and capital grants. There are four community colleges, including a forest-ranger school.

Quebec: The post-secondary education system in Quebec in 1969 bears little resemblance to that of 1965. In 1964, the first major step had been taken in the establishment of the Ministry of Education. From the Parent Commission report on education, the Ministry took the idea of an institut that would stand between high school and university. The result was a series of Colleges of General and Vocational Education (CEGEP), which offer students two or three years technical training before they go to work, or entrance to university. There are 30 French-language CEGEPs and one English-language. Classical colleges, normal schools and technical schools were used as bases for the CEGEPs. Once the system of colleges is complete, the CEGEP system will be the only route to university.

The role of the classical colleges has been drastically changed with the appearance of the CEGEP. Their number has been halved (from 100 in 1963) as individual colleges have either become part of a new CEGEP or transformed themselves into purely secondary institutions or junior colleges.

French-speaking Quebec students broke away from the Canadian Union of Students in 1964 and formed the Union générale des étudiants du Québec. The student unions of the English-language universities of Quebec eventually joined the UGEQ. However, this association virtually ceased to exist in 1969.

Faculty associations are grouped in the Fédération des Associations des Professeurs des Universités du Québec, though most members of this association also belong to the Canadian Association of University Teachers.