EVENING SITTING.

Amongst other papers read at the evening sitting was a most interesting one on the "Surgical Treatment of Empyema," by Dr. J. M. Eider, of Montreal. The doctor modestly declined to class his talk as a paper, saying that it was merely an opening of the discussion and grouping of heads upon which he desired to elicit debate and information. The discussion which followed was taken part in by Drs. Muir, Dickson, Hingston and Roddick. Dr. Muir preferred the use of a metal tube to a rubber one, and Dr. Roddick was of a similar opinion. Dr. Hingston believed in operating for chronic cases, and, speaking on the subject of washing out the cavity, said that he believed in the washing with sterilized water, or in some cases a mild solution of carbolic acid. Dr. Roddick described his success with the use of the aspirator for children.

Dr. W. H. Drummond read an exceedingly fine paper upon "The Pioneers of Medicine in Quebec," which displayed a vast amount of original historical research. It dealt with the early history of the profession in this country. See page 425.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS.

The Nominating Committee reported the following list of officers for the coming year, which was adopted:

President-Dr. Irving H. Cameron, Toronto.

Vice-Presidents-

Prince Edward Island-Dr. J. McLeod, Charlottetown.

Nova Scotia-Dr. Kirkpatrick, Halifax.

New Brunswick-Dr. L. N. Bourque, Moncton.

Quebec-Dr. Jas. Bell, Montreal.

Ontario-Dr. J. A. Williams, Ingersoll.

Manitoba-Dr. R. S. Thompson, Deloraine.

North West Territories—Dr. Lindsay, Calgary.

British Columbia-Dr. S. J. Tunstall, Vancouver.

General Secretary-F. N. G. Starr, Toronto.

Provincial Secretaries—

Prince Edward Island-Dr. S. K. Jenkins, Charlottetown.

Nova Scotia—Dr. W. G. Putnam, Yarmouth.

New Brunswick-Dr. T. D. Walker, St. John.

Quebec-Dr. Charles Marcil, Ste. Eustache.

Ontario-Dr. C. R. Dickson, Toronto.

Manitoba—Dr. George Chigan, Verden.

North West Territories—Dr. Lowe, Regina. British Columbia—Dr. R. E. Walker, New Westminster.

Treasurer-Dr. H. B. Small, Ottawa.

Publishing Committee—Dr. A. D. Blackader, Montreal; Dr. J. L. Davidson, Dr. W. A. Young, Toronto; and the General Secretary and Treasurer.

By-laws—Drs. C. S. Parke, Wyatt Johnston, Jas. Bell, C. R. Dickson, G. S. Ryan, W. W. Dickson, M. Beausoleil, and the

President and Secretary.

The next place of meeting is Toronto.