and in winter by the Northern and Pacific Junction Railway to North Bay, and thence by the Algoma Branch of the Canadian Pacific Railway to Bruce Mines.

16. St. Joseph Island:—Contains the township of St. Joseph Island. Agent, George Hamilton, Richard's Landing. The route is the same as to Bruce Mines.

17. SAULT STE. MARIE:—Contains three townships, viz.:—Korah, Parke and Prince. William Turner, Agent, Sault Ste. Marie. The route from Toronto is by railway to Collingwood or Owen Sound, and thence by steamer; in winter, by the Northern and C. P. Railways to Sault Ste. Marie.

18. Thunder Bay:—Contains two Free Grant and eleven Railway Lands townships. J. F. Ruttan, Agent, Port Arthur, The route is by railway to Collingwood or Owen Sound, and thence by steamer to Port Arthur, or by railway direct from Toront) to Port Arthur.

RAINY RIVER AGENCIES.

. T. J. F. Marsh, Rainy River P.O., Agent for the townships of Roseberry, Spenston, Tait, Pattullo, Morley, Dilke, Nelles, Blue, Worthington, Curran and Atwood.

20. Wm. Wilson, Fort Francis P.O., Agent for the townships of Barwick, Lash, Aylsworth, Devlin, Woodyatt, Crozier, Roddick and McIrvine.

21. Archibald Campbell, Rat Portage, who will furnish intending settlers with the number of lots open for location, as well as valuable general information regarding the district.

RAINY RIVER DISTRICT.

By an Act passed at the session of the Legislature, held in 1886, the Free Grant system is extended to the Rainy River District upon the same terms and conditions of settlement as above set forth, excepting that in the Rainy River District the patent is issued after three years, instead of five. The quantity of land which may be obtained is one hundred and sixty acres to a head of a family having children under eighteen years of age residing with him (or her); and one hundred and twenty acres to a single man over eighteen, or to a married man not having children under eighteen residing with him; each person obtaining a free grant to have