HISTORICAL SKETCH OF VICTORIA UNIVERSITY

VICTORIA COLLEGE (Arts)

EMMANUEL COLLEGE (Theology)

Victoria College, incorporated by Royal Charter in 1836, under the name of Upper Canada Academy, began its work of teaching in a building erected for that purpose in the town of Cobourg by the Methodist people of Canada. In 1841 the first parliament of the united Province of Canada extended the charter of this Academy under the name and style of "Victoria College, with power and authority to confer degrees of Bachelor, Master, and Doctor of the various Arts and Faculties." The Faculty of Arts of Victoria College was the first Faculty of Arts in actual operation in what is now the Province of Ontario. The first President was the Reverend Egerton Ryerson, D.D., called in 1844 to be chief superintendent of Education for Upper Canada, whose monument is to be found in the Public School System of the Province of Ontario.

In 1850 a new era of development began under Reverend Samuel Nelles, D.D., as President.

In 1854, a Faculty of Medicine was added.

In 1860, a Faculty of Law.

In 1871, a Faculty of Theology.

In 1884, following the union of the various branches of Methodism in Canada, the University of Albert College, founded by the Methodist Episcopal Church of Canada in 1857, at Belleville, was united with Victoria College, henceforth to be known as Victoria University.

In 1887 Dr. Nathaniel Burwash succeeded Dr. Nelles as President and Chancellor. Under his leadership the plan of federation with the University of Toronto was carried into effect, and in 1892 Victoria was moved to Queen's Park, Toronto, where the Arts faculty has become one of the associated Arts Colleges in the University of Toronto, and Victoria University holds in abeyance all degree conferring powers, save in the Faculty of Theology.

In 1913 Reverend Dr. R. P. Bowles was appointed President and Chancellor. During his term of office the number of students has rapidly increased and more adequate endowment has been provided.

On August the first, 1928, following the Union of the Congregational, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches, Union Theological College, which continued in the United Church the life and work of Knox College (founded by the Presbyterian Church of Canada in 1844), and the Theological faculty of Victoria University were united, and amalgamated into one Theological College of Victoria University, to be known as Emmanuel College. The United Church of Canada has now in Toronto an Arts College—Victoria, and a Theological College—Emmanuel, which together constitute Victoria University. Each of these Colleges is federated with the Provincial University—the University of Toronto.