The new Cabinet

John Napier Turner, Prime Minister

Allan J. MacEachen, Leader of the Government in the Senate

Jean Chrétien, Deputy Prime Minister, Secretary of State for External Affairs

Herbert Eser Gray, President of the Treasury Board

André Ouellet, President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, Minister of State for Economic and Regional Development, Minister of Labour, Minister responsible for Canada Post Corporation

Marc Lalonde, Minister of Finance

John Roberts, Minister of Employment and Immigration

Monique Bégin, Minister of National Health and Welfare

Jean-Jacques Blais, Minister of National Defence

Francis Fox, Minister for International Trade

Gerald Regan, Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources

Robert Phillip Kaplan, Solicitor General of Canada

William Rompkey, Minister of State (Transport)

Charles Lapointe, Minister of Supply and Services, Minister of Public Works

Edward Lumley, Minister of Regional Industrial Expansion, Minister of Communications, Minister of State for Science and Technology, Minister responsible for Canada Development Investment Corporation

Donald Johnston, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Lloyd Axworthy, Minister of Transport, Minister responsible for the Canadian Wheat Board, Minister responsible for the Canada Harbour Place Corporation (Expo 86), Minister responsible for the Northern Pipeline Agency

Judy Erola, Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Minister of State for Social Development, Minister responsible for the Status of Women

Charles L. Caccia, Minister of the Environment Serge Joyal, Secretary of State of Canada Bennett Campbell, Minister of Veterans Affairs

David Michael Collenette, Minister of State (Multiculturalism)

David Paul Smith, Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism)

Roy MacLaren, Minister of National Revenue Herbert Breau, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

Joseph Roger Rémi Bujold, Minister of State (Regional Development)

Jean-C. Lapierre, Minister of State (Youth) and Minister of State (Fitness and Amateur Sport)

Ralph Ferguson, Minister of Agriculture Douglas Cockburn Frith, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development

Mr. Lumley and Labour Minister André Ouellet both came out of the shuffle with extra responsibilities. Mr. Lumley, in addition to the portfolio of Regional Industrial Expansion, has been given responsibility for the ministries of Communications and Science and Technology. He will also be

responsible for the Canada Development Investment Corporation.

Mr. Ouellet keeps responsibility for the Labour ministry and Canada Post but takes on the Privy Council Office and the Ministry of State for Economic and Regional Development.

Canada-Brazil joint economic committee

The Secretary of State for External Affairs has announced the successful conclusion of the three-day meeting of the fifth Canada-Brazil Joint Economic Committee. The Canadian side was chaired by Claude T. Charland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Latin America and Caribbean, in the Department of External Affairs, while the Brazilian delegation was led by Ambassador Rubens Ricupero, head of the Department of the Americas in the Brazilian Ministry of External Relations.

The Canada-Brazil Joint Economic Committee was created in 1976 as a forum for senior government officials to exchange views on international economic matters and to consider ways of promoting trade

and investment between the two countries. Since its inception, the Committee has proved to be extremely valuable in Canada-Brazil relations.

Delegations considered the economic and financial situation as well as a large number of multilateral trade issues. There was particular focus on the outcome of the recent London Summit and the economic situation in Latin America. The delegations also undertook a detailed review of the Canada-Brazil bilateral economic and trade relationship.

The Canada-Brazil Joint Economic Committee is scheduled to meet again in two years' time in Brasilia.

Impact of technology studied

The creation of a \$5-million fund to support research over the next three years into human and social impacts of technological change in the workplace was announced recently by Labour Minister André Ouellet. Its primary purpose is to facilitate studies of the social and human effects and implications of technical innovation on areas such as health and safety, ergonomics, labourmanagement relations, unions, job satisfaction, and working conditions.

The fund is designed primarily to finance practical, workplace-related research by those who are directly affected or likely to be affected by technological change. Priority will be given to labour organizations, women's groups and other organizations or interest groups who wish to investigate issues of particular relevance to the workplace.

Peace prize for Mr. Trudeau

Pierre Elliott Trudeau, who stepped down recently as Canada's prime minister, is the 1984 winner of the Albert Einstein peace prize.

Announcing his selection, Norman Cousins, head of the Einstein foundation's Selection board, cited Mr. Trudeau's "unprecedented efforts to break the political impasse on arms control". The award, which carries a \$50 000 prize, will be presented to Mr. Trudeau in Washington in November.

Peace mission

During his four-month world-wide peace mission, Pierre Trudeau visited 17 countries and spoke to more than 50 government leaders. "Few heads of government in recent decades have devoted so much time and energy to international peace," commented Mr. Cousins. The former prime minister said he was "most honoured and pleased" with his selection. He emphasized that Canadians who supported his peace initiatives are being honoured.

Past recipients of the award are Swedish diplomat, Alva Myrdal; George Kennan, former US ambassador to the Soviet Union; Robert McNamara, former US defence secretary; McGeorge Bundy, onetime US national security adviser; Gerard Smith, negotiator of the 1972 Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty; and Joseph Cardinal Bernardin, the archbishop of Chicago and principal author of the US bishops' pastoral letter on nuclear arms.