Nature, it is so easy to learn more, and there is so much to learn, that we should be poor naturalists indeed if we did not show some progress.

The following is a list in chronological order of the men who have been presidents of the Club since it was founded:

LieutCol. White 1879-80
Dr. James Fletcher 1880-83
Dr. H. B. Small 1883-85
Mr. W. H. Harrington 1885-86
Prof. J. Macoun 1886-87
Mr. R. B. Whyte 1887-89
Dr. R. W. Ells 1889-92
Dr. Geo. M. Dawson 1892-95
Mr. F. T. Shutt 1895-97
Prof. E. E. Prince 1897-99
Dr. H. M. Ami 1899-1901
Dr. R. Bell 1901-1903
W. T. Macoun 1903-1904
, , , ,

I shall not in this address attempt to tell of the work which the Club has accomplished in past years, as others will speak more fully upon it; but as I am partly responsible for the work of the present one, it may be appropriate for me to say a few words about it.

On being elected president last March I felt that the Club might have made a much better selection, as my record of work for the Club was not very long. I appreciated the honor, however, and determined to do what I could to make the year a successful one. Everything happened to be in our favor this year New life was being stirred in the Club by the Nature Study movement which was interesting so many of the teachers and scholars in the city; and a spring and early summer with delightful weather for excursions enticed many out to the woods and did much to make them successful. Furthermore, the Club has a capital secretary in Mr. Wilson, and he and the other members of the Council, of which the ladies form a faithful part, were always ready and willing to co-operate with me.

During the spring and summer two general excursions were held and nine sub-excursions. All of these were very enjoyable,