Canada, called upon Mr. Bown, Member for the East Riding of the County of Brant, to take the Chair during his temporary absence.

Mr. Bown accordingly took the Chair of the House. And after some time, Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

And the Question being put on the amendment, the House divided: and the names being called for, they were taken down, as follow:—

YEAS:

Messieurs

Alleyn,	Cowan,	Knight,	Ross (Dundas),
Archambeault,	De Boucherville,		Ross (Prince Edward)
Ault,	Denis,	Le Boutillier,	Shanly,
Beaubien,	DeNiverville,	Mackenzie (Lambton)	, Smith (East Durham)
Bell,	Dickson,	Mackenzie (N. Oxford)	Smith (Toronto East),
Bellerose,	Dufresne (Montcalm)		Somerville,
Biggar,	Dunsford,	Mc Conkey,	Stirton,
Blanchet,	Evanturel,	McDougall,	Thompson,
Bowman,	Galt,	Mc Gee,	Webb,
Bown,	Gaucher,	McKellar,	Wells,
Brousseau,	Gaudet,	Morrison,	White,
Brown,	Gibbs,	Pinsonneault,	Willson,
Cartier, Atty. Gen.	Higginson,	Pope,	Wood,
Chapais,	Howland,	Poulin,	Wright (Ott'a Co.), and
Cockburn,	Jackson,	Raymond,	Wright (E. York)63.
Cornellier,	Jones (South Leeds),	Robitaillé,	

NAYS:

Messieurs

Cumeron (N. Ontario	Holton,	Lajoie,	Perrault,
Coupal,	Houde,	Macdonald (Cornwal	l)Pouliot,
Dorion (Drum. & Arth	Huntington,	Macdonald(Glenga'y),Rymal,
Dorion (Hochelaga),	Huot,	O'Halloran,	Scatcherd,
Dufresne (Iherville),		Pâquet,	Sylvain, and
Dunkin,	Labreche-Viger,	Parker,	Wallbridge (N. Hast's)
Geoffrion,	Laframboise,	•	—26.

So it was resolved in the Affirmative.

Then the main Question, so amended, being put, the House divided:—And it was resolved in the Affirmative.

Then, on motion of the Honorable Mr. Attorney General Cartier, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Brown,

The House adjourned.

Thursday, 2nd March, 1865.

Mr. Speaker laid before the House,—Return from the Northern Railway of Canada, of Traffic Receipts for the year ending 31st December, 1864, in obedience to an Order of the 25th January last. (Sessional Papers, No. 18.)

The following Petitions were severally brought up, and laid on the Table:-

By Mr. Currier,—The Petition of the Reverend John L. O' Connor and others, of the

City of Ottawa.

By the Honorable Mr. Laframboise,—The Petition of the School Commissioners of the Town of St. Hyacinthe; the Petition of E. Mathieu and others, of the Parishes of St.