### Income Tax Act

The vote is on the amendment of Mrs. Killens.

That the motion be amended by deleting all the words after the word "That" and substituting the following therefor:

"Bill C-22, An Act to amend the Patent Act and to provide for certain matters in relation thereto, be not now read a second time but that it be read a second time this day six months hence".

The House divided on the motion (Mrs. Killens), which was negatived on the following division:

# (Division No. 35)

#### YEAS

### Members

Allmand	Gray	Nicholson
Althouse	(Windsor West)	(Trinity)
Axworthy	Guilbault	Quellet
Benjamin	(Saint-Jacques)	Parry
Blaikie	Hopkins	Penner
Boudria	Keeper	Prud'homme
Cassidy	Killens	Riis
de Jong	Langdon	Robichaud
Epp	MacLellan	Rodriguez
(Thunder Bay-	Marchi	Rossi
Nipigon)	McCurdy	Waddell—32
Foster	Mitchell	Wadden 52
Gauthier	Murphy	

### NAYS

#### Members

Andre	Graham	McKinnon
Belsher	Gray	McMillan
Blackburn	(Bonaventure—Îles-de-	Merrithew
(Jonquière)	la-Madeleine)	Minaker
Blenkarn	Greenaway	Nicholson
Bourgault	Grisé	(Niagara Falls)
Bradley	Gustafson	Nickerson
Brightwell	Halliday	Nowlan
Brisco	Hamelin	Oberle
Browes	Hardey	Oostrom
Cadieux	Hawkes	Pennock
Cardiff	Hockin	Plourde
Carney	Holtmann	Porter
Champagne	Howie	Price
(Champlain)	Hudon	Redway
Chartrand	James	Reid
Clark	Jelinek	Ricard
(Yellowhead)	Johnson	St. Germain
Clark		
(Brandon—Souris)	(Bonavista—Trinity— Conception)	Scott
Collins	Kelleher	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Cossitt		Scowen
Côté	Kilgour King	Siddon
(Lac-Saint-Jean)		Sparrow
Crofton	Ladouceur	Stackhouse
Crosbie	Landry	Stewart
(St. John's West)	Lanthier	Taylor
Crouse	La Salle	Thacker
Daubney	Layton	Towers
de Cotret	Lewis	Tupper
Dick	MacKay	Turner
Domm	Mailly	(Ottawa—Carleton)
Dorin	Malone	Valcourt
Ellis	Mantha	Van De Walle
	Marin	Vézina
Epp	Martin	Vincent
(Provencher)	Mayer	Warner
Forrestall	Mazankowski	Wise—105
Fretz	McCain	
Gagnon	McCuish	
Gass	McDermid	

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion lost.

McInnes

Gottselig

• (1820)

[English]

The next question is on the main motion. Mr. Andre moved that Bill C-22, an Act to amend the Patent Act and to provide for certain matters in relation thereto, be now read the second time and referred to a legislative committee. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Andre), which was, to on the following division:

## (Division No. 36)

# YEAS

### Members

Andre	Dorin	Kilgour
Belsher	Ellis	King
Blackburn	Epp	Ladouceur
(Jonquière)	(Provencher)	Landry
Blenkarn	Fennell	Lanthier
Bourgault	Forrestall	La Salle
Bradley	Fretz	Layton
Brightwell	Gagnon	Lewis
Brisco	Gass	MacKay
Browes	Gottselig	Mailly
Cadieux	Graham	Malone
Cardiff	Gray	Mantha
Carney	(Bonaventure—Îles-de-	Marin
Champagne	la-Madeleine)	Martin
(Champlain)	Greenaway	Mayer
Chartrand	Grisé	Mazankowski
Clark	Gustafson	McCain
(Yellowhead)	Halliday	McCuish
Clark	Hamelin	McDermid
(Brandon-Souris)	Hardey	McInnes
Collins	Hawkes	McKinnon
Cossitt	Hockin	McMillan
Côté	Holtmann	Merrithew
(Lac-Saint-Jean)	Howie	Minaker
Crofton	Hudon	Nicholson
Crosbie	James	(Niagara Falls)
(St. John's West)	Jelinek	Nickerson
Crouse	Jepson	Nowlan
Daubney	Johnson	Oberle
de Cotret	(Bonavista—Trinity—	Oostrom
Dick	Conception)	Pennock
Domm	Kelleher	Plourde
		00100