Quebec: In 1961 the Quebec government began a new program of increased operating and capital grants to institutions of higher education, and increased its financial aid to Quebec students. Bills for the incorporation of three new universities in Quebec (two in Montreal and one in Trois-Rivières) were held in abeyance pending the report of a Royal Commission of Inquiry on Education in the province. The Commission, appointed in 1961, made its first report in 1963, and one of the recommendations was effected when a provincial Ministry of Education was created in 1964. Quebec had been the only province without such a ministry. Pending further Royal Commission reports, no action is being taken on the creation of new universities. It was expected that curriculum changes and reorganization at all levels of education in the province would be recommended, and that the relationship of the collèges classiques to the universities and the public school system would be one of the major areas of investigation. A report devoted to higher education was expected in late 1964 or early 1965.

Ontario: In 1959 and 1960, five additional institutions received degree-granting powers (University of Waterloo, Waterloo Lutheran University, York University, the Royal Military College of Canada, and Laurentian University of Sudbury). With this flurry of activity in creating new universities - the number in Ontario was raised from 9 to 14 - and with at least two others being proposed at about this time for which charters were not granted, concern was felt about adequate planning for future higher education needs in the province. The Ontario government, in 1961, appointed an Advisory Committee on University Affairs to replace a former University Committee appointed in 1958. The University Committee had been composed of senior government officials; the Advisory Committee on University Affairs was expanded to include some representation from outside the government, but still not directly from the universities, although it asked the presidents of Ontario universities to meet with it, and to prepare recommendations on post-secondary education in the province to meet an expected tripling of Ontario university enrolment between 1961 and 1970. The resultant report suggested that at least three new undergraduate colleges should be created; that increased support for graduate studies be provided; that increased provision be made for non-university post-secondary institutions; that provincial government grants should be both increased, and assured for three to five years ahead so that adequate planning could be undertaken on the basis of known future grants; that adequate central staff be provided for the Advisory Committee; and that an advisory sub-committee of university presidents be formed. The Ontario government began implementing these suggestions, including the passing of legislation in 1964 for the creation of a Department of University Affairs which may succeed the Advisory Committee.

Meanwhile, more new universities and colleges were being formed. Trent University (at Peterborough) and Brock University (at St. Catharines) are scheduled to open in the fall of 1964. The Lakehead College of Arts, Science and Technology, at Port Arthur, was granted degree-conferring powers in 1962; and the Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College, and Macdonald Institute, all at Guelph, were grouped as the Federated Colleges of the Department of Agriculture (of Ontario). In 1964 legislation was passed for the creation of the University of Guelph, with the Federated Colleges forming its nucleus. The University of Toronto announced that it would establish two colleges, on the eastern and western outskirts of Toronto, which are to open in a year or two.

Manitoba: There has been discussion about raising Brandon College, at present affiliated with the University of Manitoba, to independent university status. Entrance requirements to Manitoba's higher education institutions were to be raised in the fall of 1964 to the high school graduation level of senior matriculation, so that three years would be required for a pass arts degree, rather than four as previously. With this change, British Columbia became the only one of the four western provinces to admit students to its universities after they had passed the junior matriculation level.

Saskatchewan: In the fall of 1964, all teacher-training in the province will be undertaken by the University of Saskatchewan, rather than shared by the University and provincial teacher-training colleges, as has been