SIGNATURE OF THE AGENCY CONSTITUTION, OR CONVENTION

- 30. Initially, Quebec asked (its telegram of January 8) that "immediately under the signature of the Canadian representative and in the place reserved for Canada there will appear the signature of the Quebec representative as well as those of the representatives of other provinces joining the Agency". Such a formula could have implied that provinces could adhere directly as sovereign entities to the Agency convention. The federal government had no objection to the provincial representatives on the delegation signing, in the place reserved for Canada, the convention creating the Agency, but on condition that they did so in the name of Canada and on the basis of "full powers", which only the Government of Canada can confer. The Department of External Affairs sent a counter-proposal to Quebec in this sense (see telegram of January 16).
- In the ensuing correspondence, the two parties advanced various formulas, which drew closer and closer together as the negotiations progressed. In the end, in his telegram of March 6, the Prime Minister of Canada proposed a simplified formula, which was accepted by the Prime Minister of Quebec. This formula stipulated that, in addition to the chairman of the delegation, a delegate from each province could affix his signature in the name of Canada using the following description: "Gérard Pelletier, Secretary of State of Canada; Marcel Masse, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs of Quebec". The provincial delegates on the Canadian delegation thus could sign, but not in the name of their respective provinces. Full powers were signed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs on the basis of authorization from the Governor General in Council permitting the following persons to sign for Canada: M. Pelletier, of the Government of Canada; M. Chouinard, of Quebec; M. Saintonge, of New Brunswick; Mr. Larratt-Smith, of Ontario; and M. Teffaine, of Manitoba. (See also the attached list of the Canadian delegation published in a press release of March 13 by the Department of External Affairs.)