- (b) The arbitral tribunal shall consist of three members and shall be established as follows: each Government shall appoint one arbitrator; a third member, who shall act as Chairman, shall be appointed by the other two members. The Chairman shall not be a national of either country. The arbitrators shall be appointed within two months and the Chairman within three months of the date of receipt of either Government's request for arbitration.
- (c) If the foregoing time limits are not met, either Government may, in the absence of any other agreement, request the Secretary General of the United Nations to make any necessary appointments... If the Secretary General is a national of either Contracting Party or if he is otherwise prevented from discharging the said function, the President of the International Court of Justice shall be invited to make the necessary appointments.
- (d) If the President of the International Court of Justice is prevented from carrying out the said function or if he is a national of either country, the appointment or appointments shall be made by the Vice-President, and if the latter is prevented from carrying out the said function or if he is a national of either country, the appointment or appointments shall be made by the next senior judge of this Court who is not a national of either country.
- (e) The arbitral tribunal shall decide by a majority vote. Its decision shall be final and binding on both Governments. Each of the Governments shall pay the expenses of its member and its representation in the proceedings before the arbitral tribunal; expenses of the Chairman and other costs shall be paid in equal parts by the two Governments. The arbitral tribunal may adopt other regulations concerning costs. In all other matters, the arbitral tribunal shall regulate its own procedures. Only the respective Governments may request arbitral procedure and participate in it.