# HARBOR GRACE WATER CO.

OF

E ıg,

rd

d

D.rectors. Thomas H. Ridley, president; hon. W. J. S. Donnelly, treasurer; John Munn, Daniel Green, G. C Rutheford, Nath ≈ niel Davis; C. Watts, secretary.

#### EDUCATIONAL.

### GENERAL PROTESTANT BOARD.

Walter Grieve, Thomas McMurdo, John B. Bulley, James O. Fraser, hon. P. G. Tessier, William Boyd; Adam

#### COLONIAL AND CONTINENTAL CHURCH SOCIETY.

Incorporated 1862. Instituted originally as the Newfoundland School Society, 1823,

Her Most Gracious Majesty the Queen, patron; His Grace the Archbishop of Canterbury, His Grace the Archbishop of York, His Grace the Archbishop of Armagh, vice patrons; the most hon, the marquis of Cholmondsley, president, and 72 vice-presidents, consisting of Peers of the United Kingdom, English and Colonial Bishops, Deans, Colonial Governors, (including the governor of Newfoundland) members of Parliament, &c., &c.
Corresponding Committee in Newfoundland,—F. B. T.

Deans, Cotomal Governors, (including the governor of Newfoundland) members of Parliament, &c., &c.

Corresponding Committee in Newfoundland.—F. B. T.
Carter, Q.C., president, hon. R. J. Plinsent, Q.C., vice-president; J. B. Wood, M.H.A, treasurer; James Bayly, secretary; J. W. Marriott, inspector and organiser of schools; rev. T. M. Wood, W. V. Whiteway, Q.C., hon. J.
Winter, Nicholas Stabb, jun, hon. J. S. Clift, Theodore Clift, E. L. Jarvis; Union Bank, bankers.

School Teachers.—St. John's (Central school) Mr. Rowe, boys; Miss Connell, girls; training pupil teachers of the Society, Misses Pippy, Wiseman, Potter; infants school, Miss Anderson; Belleoram, Miss Saunders; Petty Harbor, Mr. and Mrs. Bishop; Portugal Cove, Mr. Ward; Brigus, R. C. Lawrence; Port de Grave, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Bishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Sishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Sishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. Earle; Sishop's Cove, Miss Pack; Harbor Grace, Mr. and Mrs. H. Lind; Swain's Island, Edward Bishop; Twillingate, Mr. Crosby; Fogo, Mrs. Plomer; Great St. Lawrence, Mr. and Mrs. Kelligrew.

CHURCH OF ENGLAND ACADEMY.

## CHURCH OF ENGLAND ACADEMY.

Directors,.-Right rev. the Lord Bishop, Robert Carter, hon. Sir Hugh Hoyles, chief justice, hon. judge Robinson; head master, rev. Joseph F. Phelps; second master, Elias

# CHURCH OF ENGLAND THEOLOGICAL INSTITUTION.

Visitor, the right rev. the Lord Bishop; rev. William Pilot, vice principal; Charles Warren, Arthur Winsor, George Bishop, — Wilson, students.

# WESLEYAN ACADEMY.

Directors.—Rev. John S. Peach, James J. Rogerson, hon. Nicholas Stabb, Joseph Woods, Stephen Rendell; Alexander Simpson Reid, M.A., head master; R. W. Woodworth, assistant.

# HOSPITALS AND ASYLUM.

## ST. JOHN'S HOSPITAL.

Charles Crowdy, M.D., and Charles H. Renouf, M.D., medical attendants; Miss Cowan, matron; John Prowse,

#### ST. JOHN'S POOR HOUSE.

Charles Crowdy, M.D., and Charles H. Renouf, M.D., medical attendants; Mrs. Downey, keeper.

# LUNATIC ASYLUM (ST. JOHN'S).

Henry H. Tabb, M.D., resident physician.

#### DISTRICT SURGRONS.

St. John's, Eastern Ward-William C. Simms, M.D. denry Shea, M.D. Western Ward-Frederick Bunting

Conception Bay-William Allan, M.D.

### ST ANDREW'S SCHOOL, ST JOHN'S.

Committee-John Boyd, secretary; Gilbert Browning Alexander M. McKay, Andrew Thompson; Robert Stott,

# ST BONAVENTURE COLLEGE, ST JOHN'S.

Right rev. Dr. Power, president; very rev. John R. Love-joy, vice-president; rev. Daniel Lynch, Thomas Talbot, Fitzpatrick, and O'Regan, professors; — Bennett, professor of music.

### LITERARY.

#### CARBONEAR LITERARY ASSOCIATION.

John McCarthey, president; John F. Apsey, secretary; Robert R. Balmen, treasurer.

## CATHOLIC INSTITUTE

Rev. R. V. Howley, D.D., president; R. Greene, vice-president; R. Hutton, secretary; Michael Berney, treasurer; James Furlong, librarian. W. P. Walsh, T. R. Walsh, Wm. Doutney, Wm. Donnelly, Edward Fitzgibbon, T. Farrell, Wm. Jordan, John Howley, M. Fenlon, Wm. Ferth, T.S. Dwyer, Michael Stafford, John Howlett and Henry Borne, council.

### HARBOR GRACE LITERARY INSTITUTE.

Hon. W. J. S. Donnelly, president; L. W. Emerson, R. S. Munn, vice-presidents.

Committee—W. O. Wood, R. Brown, W. V. Munn, Stewart Munn, John Syme, W. H. Thomson, Robert Walsh.

#### ST JOHN'S ATHEN EUM.

Hon. Nicholas Stabb, president; William Boyd, hon. R. Kent, vice-presidents; J.S. Winter, secretary; James Murray, and A. McKew, curators.

Committee—Rev. M. Harvey, James Baird, C. J. Ryland, James Fox, William Pitt, Henry Le Messurier, M. Monroe, T. McCannon and Judge Prowse; C. Barnes, librarian and superintendent of rooms.

#### WESLEYAN ACADEMIC LITERARY INSTITUTE.

S. Rendell, president; C. R. Ayre, first vice-president; James Whiteford, 2nd vice-president; H. J. B. Woods, secretary; A. S. Reid, treasurer; R. W. Woodworth, libra-

Committee—Officers ex.-officio, rev. James Dove, rev. S. T. Teed, and Messrs. G. W. Mews, R. Blackwood, sen., and John B. Ayre.

#### MASONIC LODGES.

(Under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of England.)

Hon. James S. Clift, D.P.G.M; Henry T. B. Wood, D.G.S.

## ST. JOHN'S LODGE, NO. 579.

M. Monroe, W.M.; J. Skeoch, S. W.; C. S. Pinsent, J.W.; H. Cooke, treasurer; J. R. Goodridge, secretary; rev. D, McRae, chaplain; S. Wills, S.D.; A. J. W. McNeilly, J.D.; W. Irving and A. O. Hayward, stewards; C. W. Parker, I.G.; W. Smith, tyler.

Meetings on the first Friday in every month, at Masonic hall, British square.

#### AVALON LODGE, NO. 776.

George Rendell, W. M.; George A. Hutchings, S.W.; James Fletcher, J.W.; Thomas Withycombe, treasurer; Joseph Wilson, secretary; J. L. Duchemin, S.D.; Robert Spence, J.D.; Henry Ellis, James Alexander, stewards; Henry Langston, I.G.; William Smith, tyler. Meetings on second Thursday in every month, at Masonic hall, British square.

(Under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Scotland.) Alexander M. McKay, P.G.M.; W. T. Parsons, D.P.G.M.; T. H. Ridley, S.G.M.; J.N. Finlay, S.G.M.; Robert Dicks,