At the time the Agreement was concluded, provision was made to extend its application to other locations by mutual agreement. As a result of today's arrangement, Australia will provide consular services to Canadians at ten additional locations in Asia and the South Pacific, and Canada will reciprocate at ten new locations in Africa.

Australia will offer assistance at Apia (Western Samoa), Bandar Seri Begawan (Brunei), Honiara (Solomon Islands), Nauru, Nuku Alofa (Tonga), Port Louis (Mauritius), Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea), Port Vila (Vanuatu), Yangon (Myanmar) (formerly Rangoon, Burma) and Tarawa (Kiribati), while Canada will do the same at Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire), Accra (Ghana), Addis Ababa (Ethiopia), Conakry (Guinea), Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), Dakar (Senegal), Kinshasa (Zaire), Libreville (Gabon), Rabat (Morocco) and Yaoundé (Cameroon).

This extension of the Consular Sharing Agreement is a reflection of the special relationship which has developed between the consular services of Canada and Australia over the years and which is of considerable benefit to citizens of both countries.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Robert Peck Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874