In addition, the General Assembly or any of its committees may establish committees and commissions for special purposes. Among others, the following special committees and commissions are now functioning:

- 1. The Interim Committee
- 2. The United Nations Commission on Korea
- 3. The United Nations Special Committee on the Balkans
- 4. Special Committee on Information transmitted under Article 73e of the Charter
- 5. Headquarters Advisory Committee.

Committees take decisions by a majority of the members present and voting. The Assembly decides important questions by a two-thirds majority of the members present and voting, and other questions by a majority.

The Security Council

The Security Council consists of five permanent members (China, France, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom and the United States of America), and six non-permanent members selected for two-year terms by the Assembly at its regular annual session. Non-permanent members are not eligible for immediate re-election. The Security Council is so organized as to be able to function continuously.

There are two Standing Committees of the Security Council with the same membership as the parent body. These are the Committee of Experts which was established to advise the Security Council on the application of its rules of procedure; and the Committee on the Admission of New Members, which examines all applications for membership in the United Nations.

The Military Staff Committee

The Military Staff Committee is a subsidiary organ of the Security Council. It consists of the Chiefs of Staff (or their representatives) of the permanent members of the Security Council.

The Commission for Conventional Armaments

The Commission for Conventional Armaments is composed of representatives of the eleven members of the Security Council. It considers and reports to the Council on proposals for the general regulation and reduction of armaments and armed forces. It may not, however, deal with matters within the competence of the Atomic Energy Commission.

Atomic Energy Commission

The Atomic Energy Commission was created by the General Assembly by a resolution of January 24, 1946, and is a subsidiary organ of the Assembly. It consists of six permanent members (Canada, China, France, the U.S.S.R., the United Kingdom, and the U.S.A.), and the non-permanent members of the Security Council.

It is responsible for proposing specific solutions of the problems raised by the discovery of atomic energy and related matters. It submits its reports and recommendations to the Security Council and receives directions from the Council.

¹ Membership of the Security Council for 1949 is given in Appendix VI., pp., 268-272.