PROVINCE OF MANITOBA.

SEAT OF GOVERNMENT-FORT GARRY.

Lieutenant Governor-His honor hon. Adams G. Archibald.

Private Secretary-George P. Hill.

Executive Council-Hon. Alfred Boyd, provincial secretary; hou. Marc Amable Girard, treasurer; hon, captain Howard, commissioner of public works and agriculture; hon. James McKay, commissioner of Indian affairs; hon. Henry J. O'C. Clarke, Q.C., attorney general; D. Bouthillier, clerk.

Recorder-Hon, F. G. Johnson.

Commissioners to administer oaths-Hon, Adams G. Archibald, hon. F. G. Johnson, hon. Alexander Boyd, and hon. Marc Amable Girard.

Commanding Militia-Lieut. colonel Samuel P. Jarvis, C.M.G., D.A.G.; lieut. colonel Louis Adolphe Casault,

Collector of Customs-George B. Spencer.

The whole of the vast territory hitherto held by the Hudson Bay Company, under Royal Charter issued in the 22nd year of the reign of Charles II, and transferred the 220d year of the regn of Charles II, and transferred to the Imperial Government on the 1st day of December, 1869 (the Company receiving an indemnity from the Canadian Government of £300,000 sterling), was by order of H. M. the Queen in Council, dated 23rd day of June, 1870, admitted into the Union or Dominion of Canada.

The portion of the Union or Dominion of Canada.

The portion of the Territory hitherto known as the Selkirk or Red River Settlement has been creeted into a Province, to be called the Province of Manitoba. It contains an area of 14,340 square miles—9,177,600 acres, and is bounded as follows—"commencing at the point where the meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude from Greenwich intersects the parrellel of forty-nine degrees north latitude—thence due west along the said parallel of forty-nine degrees north latitude (which forms a portion of the boundary line between the United States of America and the said North Western Territory) to the meridian of ninety-nine degrees of west longitude—thence due north along the said meridian of ninety-nine degrees west longitude, to the intersection of the same with the parallel of fifty degrees and thirty minutes north latitude-thence due east along the said parallel of fifty degrees and thirty minutes north latitude to its intersection with the before mentioned meridian of ninety-six degrees west longitude-thence due south along the said meridian of ninety-six degrees west south along the said interest in the south along the said the place of beginning "—being 3 degrees of longitude and 1½ latitude. The Province will be represented at present in the Senate of the Dominion, by two members, and in the House of Commons, by four elective members. The electoral districts were declared by proclamation of the Governor General of the 5th January, 1871, to be as follows:

Electoral District number One to comprise, of the Electoral Divisions recently established by the Proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba, for the Legislative

Assembly of Manitoba, those known as

Headingly, or No. 8

Saint Charles, or No. 9. Saint James, or No. 10.

Saint Boniface, West and East, or Nos 11 and 12. Winnipeg and St John, or No. 18.

Kildonan, or No. 19.

Such Electoral District number One, to be called and

knewn as the Electoral District of Selkirk.

Electoral District number Two to comprise all the settle-Electoral District number I wo to comprise all the settle-ments on the Red River, and in the neighborhood, lying between the south line of Electoral District number One, and the frontier of the United States, including the settle-ments on the Seine, at Oak Point or St Anne, such Electoral District number Two, to be called and known as the Elec-

toral District of Provencher.
Electoral District number Three, to comprise all the settlements on the Red River, and in the neighborhood between the north line of Electoral District number One, and the northern frontier of the Province, including those at Broken Head River, such Electoral District number Three to be called and known as the Electoral District of Lisgar.

Electoral District number four, to comprise all the settle- | business on Thursday, the 2nd February, 1871.

ments on the Assiniboine and Lake Manitoba, and all other settlements to the westward of the western line of the Electoral District number One, such Electoral District number Four to be called and known as the Electoral District of Marquette.

The Government will consist of a Lieutenant Governor and an Executive Council of five members; the Legislature, of a Legislative Council of seven members, appointed for life, and a Legislative Assembly of twenty-four elective members, the Province to be divided into twenty-four electoral divisions for that purpose

It is provided that either the English or French language may be used in the Legislature, and the public records and

documents are to be printed in both languages.

The Province not being in debt, will receive from the Dominion Government interest at the rate of 5 per cent. le: annum, on the sum of \$472,000; a yearly subsidy of \$30,000 for the support of its government and Legislature, and an annual grant, in aid of the Province, of 80 cents per head of the population, estimated at 17,000 souls, such grant to be augmented in proportion to the increase of population until it amounts to 400,000 souls, at which amount the grant will remain thereafter

To extinguish the Indian title to the lands in the Province 1,400,000 acres of ungranted lands are to appropriated for

the benefit of the half-breed residents.

The following are the present routes to the new Province: 1st Via Detroit, Chicago, St. Paul and St Cloud—fare from Toronto to the latter place \$28.50, \$5 gold, remainder in American currency

2nd Via Grand Haven and Mi'wankee to St Paul and St Cloud, same fare as the first route.

3rd Via Collingwood, Sault Ste Marie and Duluth. thence by rail to St Paul and St Cloud, fare about \$5 less than the before-mentioned routes.

The route followed by the troops of the Red River expedition is not one which could, in its present state, be

used by emigrants going to the new province.

The cost of the trip from St. Cloud to Fort Garry depends on circumstances—the number of people travelling together and the manner in which they live and travel. The average cost of the trip from Toronto to the settlement is about \$60 to \$70 for each adult in a party.

Population of Province-From the census return of this Province, just completed, the total population is ascertained to be as follows:

	French half-breed	Is	5,757
Whites	English "		4,083
Indians	Whites		1,565
	Indians		558
	ndians		55

MANITOBA PARLIAMENT.

The following members were elected to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, on the 30th December, 1870:

	Members.	Electoral I ivision.
	Bird Dr. Curtis J	St. Paul's.
,	Beauchemin André	
	Bunn Thomas	
	Bird Frederick	Portage La Prairie
	Bourke Edwin	St James
	Boyd hon. Alfred	St. Andrews, north
	Breland Pascal	St. Francois Xavier, east
	Clarke Henry J. O'C., Q.C	St. Charles
	Delorme Pierre	
ı	Dubuc Joseph	Baje St. Paul
ı	Girard hon. Marc Amable	St. Boniface, east
٩	Hay Edward	
	Howard captain	St. Peters.
	Klyne George	St. Agatha.
1	McKay Angus	Lake Manitoba.
1	McTavish John	St. Ann's.
	Lemay Joseph	
1	Norquay John, jun	High Bluff.
1	Royal Joseph	St. Francois Xavier, west
1	Schmidt Louis	St. Boniface, west.
1	Smith Donald A	Winnipeg and St. John's.
1	Spence D	Poplar Point.
1	Sutherland John	
	Taylor John	
1	m w to to p to	

The Manitoba Parliament assembled for the despatch of