ay be appointed by lections Committee

uncil.

embers of the Union
h respect to activities
e adopted which have
fe for members of the
other Committee.

any maner water

rom that date, exce

I have full force and shall declare them to



NB UNB UNB UNB UNL B UNB UNB U UNB UNB UN UNB BU NB UN INB NB UNB L UNB UN UNI UNB UNB INB BU INB UN UN UNB UNB U ONB U

Co-Editors: Tim Lynch and Mark Sawoie

SPORTS DESK 453-4983

DEADLINE: Tuesday, noon

Black Bears Lose Half of AUAA Title

by Kelly Craig

On February 17, 1990 the UNB Black Bears were announced the AUAA Champions. This decision came as the result of a protest by the St. Francis Xavier team. Apparently, in the final of the 52 kg weight class the wrestler from Mount Allison used a questionable leg hold on the St. FX wrestler.

After viewing tapes for more than an hour and a half, the Protest Committee granted the protest and declared the wrestler from St. FX the winner. This decreased the team points of Mt. A allowing UNB the lead and thus the championship. The protest

committee was made up of Committee Chairman Jim Born, Director of Athletics for UNB; a neutral coach; and the highest ranked official in the AUAA that was not involved in the match.

Recently, Leon Abbott, Director of Athletics at Mt. Allison, appealed to the AUAA Protest Committee. The committee voted to deny the appeal. James Born, President of the AUAA, decided, along with the AUAA Executive, to declare the match a draw. This decision was based on hours of viewing tapes of the match in question.

It was then decided that since Mt. A was declared a cowinner in the 52 kg match, the additional points would be added to the team's points total. With these additional points, Mount Allison became tied with UNB. Therefore, the AUAA Championship would be shared. This is only the second time this has ever occured. It also happened back in 1980 when St. FX and UNB tied for first.

Coach George Multamaki, co-captains Pat Zwicker and Don Ryan, and Sean Dockrill joined Jim Born in Mt. Allison for presentations. The trophy will be split between Mt. A and UNB, two banners will be made up (one going to UNB and one to Mt. A), and AUAA certificates were awarded to

Mount Allison.

The following is a press release from UNB Athletic Director, Jim Born.

James Born, President of the AUAA, released today the decision of the AUAA Executive to award Mount Allison University as Co-champions in the sport of wrestling for the 1990 season, along with UNB. Leon Abbott, Director of Athletics at Mt. Allison University, appealed to the AUAA Executive a Protest Committee decision of the 52 kg weight class at the AUAA Wrestling Championship held February 17th, 1990.

The appeal was denied, however, Jim Born in conjunction with Leon Abbot proposed a draw be declared at the 52 kg weight class. Derek Wall (St. FX) and Rocky Luppicini (Mt. A), would both be declared AUAA championships and Mt. A's points scored be put toward the team championship thus tying them with UNB for first place honours.

The rationale was based on the vagueness of the rule applied and the vast difference in the ruling by the officials and Protests Committee at the tournament. Jim Born will address this issue with the Canadian Amateur Wrestling Association in the near future.

