"With a view to rendering the labor of the committees successful, it would be essential that they should be recognized by the Government as the proper agents for the reception, protection and distributson of female immigrants brought out under Government supervision."

It was further agreed that the Committee, when organized, should pass a resolution, fixing the annual subscription at one dollar, to meet postage and other small incidental expenses; that an endeavour would be made to secure a respectable boarding house for female immigrants, until a home in the city can be opened to them; and that, to this extent, the Committee would tender comfort and protection to women coming from Great Britain, as well as to those coming from the continent.

It was also moved by Mr. Cockburn, M P, seconded by Mr. Pollard. "That having heard Madam Von Koerber explain her proposition for the facilitating of female manigration into Canada, the meeting heartily sypathizes with that lady, and promises its active co-operation in furtherance of so important an object"

A vote of thanks was tendered the chairmain for his hindness in presiding over the deliberations of the meeting, after which the proceedings came to a close.

A Committee, consisting of the following ladies, to be known as the "Ottawa" or "Central" Committee, was subsequently formed, that is to say :-

> MRS. R. W. SCOTT, Mrs. John O'Connon.

MRS. TILTON.

MRS. GORDON.

MRS. CROSS.

MRS. POLLARD.

MRS. KINGFORD,

MRS. BROPHY,

MRS. BORRADAILE.

MRS. DENNIS.

MRS. ZOLLIKOFFER.

MRS. K. ARNOLDI.

MRS. A. A. CAMERON.

MRS. M. GRIFFIN.

MRS. J. HILL,

MISS WOODMAN.

MRS. WM. STEWART.

MISS KINGSFORD.

The Committee was organized by the appointment of the following ladies as office-bearers; that is to say:-

President: - MRS. R. W. SCOTT.

Corresponding Secretaries :- MRS. TILTON and MRS. ZOLLIKOFFER. Secretary and Treasurer :- MRS. BROPHY.

The Board of gentlemen consists of the following: -

HON. R. W. SCOTT,

REV. D. M. GORDON,

REV. H. POLLARD,

REV. A. A. CAMERON.

COLONIEL DENNIS,

JAMES TROW, ESQ., M.P..

JOHN LOWE. Esq.