

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

No.: 91

DIFFUSION: RELEASE: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NOVEMBER 20, 1979

CANADA HOSTS THE CANADA/CARICOM
JOINT TRADE AND ECONOMIC COMMITTEE

Secretary of State for External Affairs Flora MacDonald has announced that Canada will host the first meeting of the Joint Trade and Economic Committee (JTEC) which has been established under the provisions of the Canada/CARICOM Trade and Economic Co-operation Agreement. The meeting takes place in Ottawa, at the Government Conference Centre, November 21 and 22, 1979. The CARICOM Delegation will be led by Mr. Don Brice, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Jamaica. Mr. L. A. H. Smith, Assistant Under-Secretary, Department of External Affairs, will lead the Canadian Delegation.

The framework Agreement which was signed on January 20, 1979, between the Government of Canada and the Governments of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) consists of a formal Trade and Economic Co-operation Agreement, a Protocol on Industrial Co-operation and an exchange of letters between the parties on related policy issues. In addition to provisions for facilitating two-way trade and for financial and technical co-operation in support of Caribbean regional programmes, the Agreement and its Protocol outline measures for industrial co-operation which, in addition to fostering mutual industrial benefit, will seek to strengthen the economic capabilities of CARICOM, through such measures as transfer of technology, research, investment studies and industrial investment.

The Joint Trade and Economic Committee was established to review progress under the framework Agreement and consult on economic matters of mutual concern. At this first meeting, senior officials of Canada and of CARICOM and its member states will explore opportunities for increased co-operation and establish guidelines for the future work of the Committee.

Member countries of the CARICOM are: Jamaica, Guyana, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Associated States of Antigua, St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla and territories of Belize and Montserrat.