THIRTY-FOURTH ANNUAL REPORT.

MINUTES OF THIRTY-FOURTH ANNUAL MEETING, held April 21st, 1897.

PRESENT :

Charles Alex	ander, President.
Joseph Richards,	Theodore Lyman,
William Francis,	Rev. Jas. Patterson,
James Moore,	Rev. E. McManus,
James Wilson,	Rev. C. Amaron,
Daniel Wilson,	Rev. J. Edgar Hill,
James McKeown,	Rev. Thos. Bennet,
A. F. Gault,	Rev. R. P. Duclos,
Walter Livermore,	D. McMillan; Sec'y.

The meeting was opened with prayer by Rev. J. Edgar Hill.

The minutes of last meeting of Governors were read and confirmed.

PRESIDENT'S REMARKS.

The President, in the course of some remarks, said that they could not let the opportunity pass without giving their testimony to the goodness of their Heavenly Father, who had so wonderfully watched over and protected their Homes during the year that had passed away. No untoward accidents had befallen their buildings. Their inmates had lived in peace and comfort, and had, on the whole, enjoyed fair health.

During the past winter, and at the present time, the Home at Longue Pointe was fully taxed to receive all applicants; but, so far, no homeless old people had been refused who had applied duly recommended. They had again to record the value and usefulness of the Moore Incurable and Convalescent Home, that the Board had felt to be the missing link in the benevolent work of their Institution. Quite a number of people who, needing a short rest, to recruit from sickness or feebleness of body had, from the healthful surroundings of that locality, been able to resume their ordinary avocations in life.

The Report would mention that one after another of their Governors were passing away to the life beyond, teaching those who remain that what their hands find to do, to do it with their might, and to impress upon those who love others to lend a hand to perpetuate the usefulness of their excellent Institution.

In the absence of the Honorary Secretary, Mr. Joseph Richards read the Annual Reports and financial statements for the year.

Moved by Charles Alexander, President, seconded by A. F. Gault :

That the reports and annual statements as now read, be received, adopted and printed.

Moved by A. F. Gault, seconded by James Moore :

That the following twenty-four gentlemen be the elective Governors for the ensuing year, viz :---

James Coristine, John McArthur, William J. Withall, George Hague, Hon. J. K. Ward, Hon. A. W. Morris, Theodore Lyman, Thomas A. Dawes, Gilman Cheney, James Wilson, ThomasEcroyd, Walter Livermore,

Jonathan Hodgson, William Reid, Samuel Bell, G. F. C. Smith, J. J. Day, Q.C., Alexander Milloy, Daniel Wilson, Robert Mitchell, John Patterson, George Roberts,

Moved by Rev. Jas. Patterson, seconded by Rev. E. McManus :

That the thanks of the Governors are hereby tendered to the Board of Management, the Poor Relief Committee and the