McCreath

Moore

Oberle

Porter

Richardson

St-Julien

Shields

Soetens

Stevenson

Reid

## Government Orders

Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cardiff Chadwick Clark (Brandon-Souris) Champagne (Champlain) Cole Crosby (Halifax West) de Cotret Côté DeBlois Desjardins Domm Duplessis Dorin Fee Gray (Bonaventure – Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Halliday Gérin Gustafson Hawkes Harvey (Chicoutimi) Horner Hogue Iames Iourdenais Kempling Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Langlois Layton Lopez MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacKay Martin (Lincoln) Masse Mazankowski Mayer

McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Nicholson Paproski Redway Reimer Robitaille Schneider Siddon Sparrow Tardif Thompson Turner (Halton-Peel) Tremblay (Rosemont) Venne Weiner

Vincent Wilbee White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Winegard-86

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion lost. I therefore declare Motions Nos. 16 and 18 lost on recorded division.

Mr. Hawkes: Mr. Speaker, I do not think there is any responsibility more onerous on members than the casting of a vote in division. I have some doubts about the wisdom of standing up 24 times, but when the results of the last vote were announced, there was a total of 38 members present in the chamber on the opposition side and I suspect that there were fewer members on our side than the vote count would indicate.

If we fall into sloppy habits in relation to votes, we could get the House and the integrity of Parliament into trouble down the road. I would suggest that members should be present in the chamber to hear the motion read and they should remain in the chamber until the vote is announced or they should not vote.

I would hope that on all sides of the House we might respect that set of principles so that we can have clarity on the results of the votes.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The next question is on Motion No. 20.

The House divided on Motion No. 20, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 100)

## YEAS

## Members

Allmand Althouse Arseneault Angus Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Assad Bellemare Comuzzi Dionne Ferguson Fisher Gauthier Harvard Harvey (Edmonton East) Karpoff Heap Kilger (Stormont - Dundas) Keyes Kristiansen LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) McGuire Lee Nault Ouellet Pagtakhan Peterson Rideout Pickard Riis Robichaud Robinson Rocheleau Stewart Taylor Wood Young (Gloucester) Young (Beaches - Woodbine) - 37

## NAYS

Members Anderson Atkinson Bjornson Blackburn (Jonquière) Rlais Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Bourgault Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Cardiff Chadwick Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Cole Collins Cook Côté Couture Crosby (Halifax West) DeBlois de Cotret Desjardins Dorin Duplessis Feltham Fee Friesen Gray (Bonaventure - Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Gibean Halliday Hawkes Hogue Horner James Johnson Jourdenais Kempling Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Koury Langlois Landry Leblanc (Longueuil) Layton MacKay Martin (Lincoln) Masse Mayer Mazankowski McCreath McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Moore Oberle Paproski Porter Pronovost Redway Reid Reimer Richardson Robitaille St-Julien Schneider Shields Siddon Sparrow Thompson Turner (Halton-Peel) Vézina

Weiner