The hon. member for Moose Jaw (Mr. Skoberg) says that farm unions have advocated this kind of legislation. I know that the NDP have advocated it. I know that there was a request for an egg board in Saskatchewan and it was turned down. The farmers knew what was right for them and what was not right. They did not think a simple bureaucracy was the answer for them. I do not think it is the answer for them. This bill will not solve anyone's problem. If a producer has a quota he will be in a good position. If he does not have a quota, then it will be too bad for him. This bill, I repeat, will not solve the farmer's problems. Certainly all farmers want to become more efficient and increase their production. To this end they buy fertilizer, introduce new strains, grow new vegetables and do everything they possibly can.

This bill will not guarantee prices for farmers' produce. I suggest that the NDP is deceiving the House and the country by throwing out red carrots.

An hon. Member: In the sunset?

Some hon. Members: Oh. oh!

Mr. Korchinski: Well, a red herring. If the government accepts the solution to their problems such as is offered by the New Democratic Party, then let them ponder whether this country needs this type of advice.

Some hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Peters) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Barnett Beaudoin Bell Bigg Burton Cadieu Carter Code Danforth Downey Forrestall Godin Grills Gundlock Harding Hees Horner Howard (Skeena) Knight Knowles (Winnipeg-North Centre) Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) 24725-63

Baldwin

Laprise Latulippe Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacKay MacLean McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh McKinley Marshall Mazankowski Moore Nowlan Paproski Peters Rondeau Rose Rowland Schumacher Scott Skoberg Southam Stewart (Marquette) Tétrault-48

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blair Borrie Boulanger Buchanan Caccia Cafik Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corbin Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Danson Deachman Deakon De Bané Dupras Duquet Faulkner Forget Francis Gendron Gibson Gillespie Goode Goyer Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Hogarth Hopkins Jamieson Kaplan Lachance Laing (Vancouver South) Lajoie Langlois Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Legault

Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) L'Heureux Lind Loiselle Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasev McBride McIlraith McNulty Manonev Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Murphy O'Connell Olson Orange Ouellet Pelletier Penner Perrault Portelance Pringle Prud'homme

Division

NAYS

Messrs:

Reid

Richard

Roberts Robinson

Rochon

Sharp

Stafford

Stewart

Stanbury

St Pierre

Sulatycky

Thomas

Trudel

Wahn

Walker

Watson

Whelan

Whicher

Weatherhead

Whiting-106.

Richardson

Roy (Laval)

Smith (Saint-Jean)

(Maisonneuve-

Rosemont)

(Okanagan-Kootenay)

Turner (Ottawa-Carleton)