June 16, 1970

an hour by this fall. The minimum wage in every province has increased substantially since the legislation was passed five years ago. I suggest, Mr. Speaker, that what was accomplished when the rate was set at \$1.25 cannot be accomplished today when the rate is set at \$1.65 because most of the provinces are already close to that rate. The benefits attained by the increase five years ago will not be attained today.

I say to the minister, Mr. Speaker, that to a large extent this amendment to the bill is an exercise in futility. It will not do for the workers of Canada, whether under federal or provincial jurisdiction, what the original bill did five years ago. I say to the minister that in the light of his constant speeches and protestations as to his interest and support for the ordinary people of this country—and I believe that the minister is sincere in this and in the light of his constant reiteration of a desire to improve the conditions of the worker, the Parliament of Canada had a right to expect a good deal more from him than we are getting today.

An hon. Member: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Order, please. All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Knowles) which was negatived on the following division:

• (4:30 p.m.)

YEAS

Messrs:

Beaudoin Benjamin Brewin Broadbent Carter Coates Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Forrestall Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Harding Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lambert (Bellechasse) Latulippe Lewis

Aiken Allmand Anderson Andras Asselin Baldwin Barrett Béchard Bell. Benson Bigg Borrie Boulanger Breau Brown Buchanan Caccia Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Cadieux (Labelle) Cafik Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corbin Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Crouse Cullen Danforth Danson Davis Deachman Deakon De Bané Dinsdale Douglas (Assiniboia) Downey Drury Dubé Émard Fairweather Flemming Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Givens

Division

MacEwan MacInnis (Mrs.) McGrath Matte Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Nystrom Orlikow Peters Rodrigue Rondeau Rose Rowland Tétrault Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley)-33.

NAYS

Messrs:

Gover Grav Greene Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Haidasz Hopkins Horner Howe Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kaplan Kierans Korchinski Lachance Laflamme Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lind Loiselle MacDonald (Egmont) Macdonald (Rosedale) MacGuigan Mackasey MacLean MacRae McCleave McCutcheon McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Mazankowski Monteith Morison Muir (Lisgar) Munro

8175