The Security Council

The Security Council is the main UN organ responsible for enforcement of peace and security. It is composed of 15 members; five of them are permanent members each with a veto power. The ten non-permanent members are elected for a term of two years and, according to the Charter, the criteria for election are based on "due regard being specially paid, in the first instance to the contribution of Members of the United Nations to the maintenance of international peace and security and to the other purposes of the Organization, and also to equitable geographical distribution".

Canada was a member of the Security Council in 1948-49, 1958-59 and 1967-68. Canada was elected once again to the Council for 1977 and 1978 at the elections held during the thirty-first UN General Assembly. The membership picture for the next biennium, so far as it can be determined now, is as follows:

	ally star ampressors and cultural to A	1070
	1977	1978
Permanent members	USA	USA
	USSR	USSR
	Britain	Britain
	France	France
	China	China
	Child Sak s	MARKET CHARACTER OF THE STATE O
Africa	Benin	
	Mauritius	Mauritius
	Libya	majority of the UN members, or by a
Asia	Pakistan	makes of and Tell formation and amount
	India	India
Latin America	the said of the south the second of	
	Panama	Venezuela
	Venezuela	Venezuela
Western Europe and others	Canada	Canada
	West Germany	West Germany
	west definally	West Collidary
Eastern Europeans	Romania	member ship.
	Homana	

LIST OF SENIOR OFFICIALS OF SPECIAL BODIES AND SPECIALIZED AGENCIES

Waldheim, Kurt (Austria)

Secretary-General of the UN

Equivalent ranks - special bodies of the United Nations

Corea, Gamani (Sri Lanka)

Secretary-General of Conference on Trade and Development

Labouisse, Henry R. (U.S.A.)

Executive Director of UNICEF

Khan, Prince Sadruddin Aga (Iran)

High Commissioner for Refugees

Rennie, Sir John (Britain)

Commissioner General for UNRWA

Morse, Bradford (U.S.A.)

Administrator of UNDP

Nicol, Davidson (Sierra Leone)

Executive Director for UNITAR

Khane, Abderrahmane (Algeria)

Executive Director for UNIDO

Tolba, Dr. Mostafa (Egypt)

Executive Director, United Nations Environment Program