VIII. Administrative Organization of the ADB

The organization of the ADB takes into account not only the nature of this institution but the national interests which it represents. The Bank has three levels of authority: the Board of Governors; the Board of Directors; and management. The remainder of the Bank consists of its various departments and services.

The Highest Authorities

1. The Board of Governors

Every member country has a governor representing it. The Board meets annually to review the Bank's general policy decisions and decide on new action plans as presented by the Board of Directors or Bank management. The Board also reserves the right to admit new members, increase capital, amend by-laws and handle elections to the Board of Directors and to the position of President.

Canada is represented on the Board by the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

2. The Board of Directors

Members are elected for three-year terms by the Board of Governors which consists of 18 directors. Members are responsible for general operations of the Bank. The Canadian director also represents the following countries: Spain, Yugoslavia, South Korea, and Kuwait.

3. President and Managing Director of the Bank and Chairman of the Board of Directors

Elected by the Board of Governors for a five-year, renewable term, the President manages the Bank's current operations, is responsible for staff organization and is the Bank's legal representative. Four vice-presidents assist the President and, together they constitute the Bank's management. The vice-presidents are appointed by the Board of Directors.