"We would precommend that a transportation committee be appointed to deal with all matters relating to the shipping of Alberta products to any part of the world, and especially to work to the end of opening up and bettering our natural market in British Columbia and through western ports to whatever markets are available. The said committee to work in conjunction with the gövernment as proposed by the premier, and all resolutions regarding freight rates and transportation matters that come before the convention to be turned over to them. After some discussion the question was put and the amendment from the resolution committee was declared adopted.

PORK PACKING PROPOSITION

Mr. W. F. Stevens, live stock commissioner, was called to explain the plan under which the government was prepared to take up the work. He stated that whatever the association decided was the main thing, but if the draft agreement as presented was acceptable it will assist in boosting the thing along. If the proposition presented is accepted, Mr. Stevens stated, he had received instructions to devote the rest of the winter to canvassing the country and securing signatures.

The proposed agreement was then read as follows:—

The of section...

The main province of Alberts, agree as follows:—

west of the meridan, in the Province of Alberts, agree as follows:

Witness
The report was discussed for a time and it was then moved by Mr. Hoover and seconded by Mr. Carswell,
"That the draft report of the government in regard to the pork packing establishment be accepted and adopted."

It now being three o'clock, the further discussion of this subject was left over and the nomination of officers for the ensuing year proceeded with.

NOMINATION OF OFFICERS

President Bower vacated the chair, which was assumed by Mr. Joshua Fletcher,

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT

Mr. James Bower, nominated by Messrs. Comer and Wolfe.
Mr. W. J. Tregillus, nominated by Messrs. Skene and Zebelle.
Mr. Rice Sheppard, nominated by Messrs. Clare and Steinacker.
It was then moved and seconded, and unanimosuly carried "that nominations now close."

It was moved and seconded and carried that an absolute majority of votes be cessary for the successful candidate, and if necessary the man polling the least numrof votes shall drop out and further ballots be held.

The chairman appointed Mr. E. R. Hallberg and the secretary to act as scrutineers.
On the ballot being held the scrutineers declared the result as follows:—

James Bower

116

R. Sheppard

26

W. J. Tregillus

27

Mr. Bower was therefore declared elected president for the coming year on the first lot.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-PRESIDENT

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-PRESIDENT

The chairman then called for nominations for vice-president.

Mr. Rice Sheppard was nominated on motion of Messrs. Campbell and McDonald;
Mr. Joshua Fletcher, on motion of Messrs. Keith and Parcells; Mr. W. J. Tregilius,
on motion of Messrs. Wilson and Griesbach; Mr. Geo. McDonald, on motion of Messrs.

Batson and R. J. Sheppard.

It was then moves and seconded, and carried, that nominations do now close.

A ballot was then ordered and the scrutineers announced the result as follows:

Mr. W. J. Tregilius

Mr. Rice Sheppard

Mr. Geo. McDonald

Mr. Geo. McDonald

Mr. Geo. McDonald

Mr. W. J. Tregilius was therefore declared elected vice-president for the ensuing
year on the first ballot.

NOMINATIONS FOR DIRECTORS AT LARGE

Mr. James Speakman, nominated by Messrs. Smith and Center. Mr. M. Matheson, nominated by Messrs. Lennox and Malchow. Mr. D. W. Warner, nominated by Messrs Peterson and Steinacker. Mr. Lake Richardson, nominated by Messrs. Stuart and Richardson. Mr. D. G. Markle, nominated by Messrs. Sheppard and Smith. Mr. L. H. Jelliff, nominated by Messrs. Dixon and Quinsey. It was moved and seconded that nominations do now close. Carried.

VICTORIA CONSTITUENCY

Mr. J. N. Brydon, nominated by Mr. Campbell.
Mr. T Balaam, nominated by Mr. Gascoigne.
Mr. J. Sandford, nominated by Mr. Jackman.
It was moved and seconded that nominations do now close. Carried.

EDMONTON CONSTITUENCY

Mr. Geo. Long, nominated by Mr. Rye. Mr. C. Burnell, nominated by Mr. Rafn.

STRATHCONA CONSTITUENCY

Mr. W. J. Hoover, nominated by Mr. Stowell.
Mr. Rice Sheppard, nominated by Mr. Housley.
Mr. F. Langston, nominated by Mr. Miner.
Mr. F. J. Herbert, nominated by Mr. Balsing.

RED DEER CONSTITUENCY

Mr. E. Carswell, nominated by Mr. Smith. Mr. J. A. Colvin, nominated by Mr. Ziebelle, Mr. T. P. Parcells, nominated by Mr. Fiske. Mr. S. Wilson, nominated by Mr. McDonald.

CALGARY CONSTITUENCY

Mr. A. von Mieleckl, nominated by Mr. Tregillus. Mr. Frank Peterson, nominated by Mr. Dageford.

MACLEOD CONSTITUENCY

Mr. J. Quinsey, nominated by Mr. Barker. Mr. G. A. Dixon, nominated by Mr. McColl. Mr. S. L. Fraser, nominated by Mr. Frost.

MEDICINE HAT CONSTITUENCY

Mr. E. Greisbach, nominated by Mr. Isaac. Mr. W. Isaac, nominated by Mr. Greisbach.

AUDITOR

Mr. E. R. Hallberg, nominated by Messrs. Rafn and Warner.

There being no other nominations for auditor, Mr. Hallberg was unanimously declared elected for the ensuing year, and a ballot was ordered for the other elections. It was decided to proceed with the discussion of the pork packing proposition while the ballots were being printed. A long discussion ensued in which several delegates took part, and Mr. Speakman then moved, seconded by Mr. Miner, "That we thank the government for submitting the proposed agreement re packing factory to our convention, that we submit the agreement to the next meeting of each



"Products of Alberta"

local union for consideration, and that we invite the live stock commissioner to visit our local unions as he conveniently can to discuss the matter."

Further discussion then ensued and the amendment was then by leave withdrawn The original motion agreeing to the proposed contract and accepting same was then put and carried.

It was then moved and seconded, and carried, "That the board of directors appoint a committee to act with the government occarry out details in regard to the pork packing plant, as suggested by the Minister of Agriculture."

Moved and seconded, and carried, that we do now adjourn till seven o'clock.

EVENING SESSION

| EVENING SESSION | On reassembling at seven o'clock the president took the chair and called upon the scrutineers to distribute the ballots for the election of directors. | The election was then held and resulted as follows:—
| Directors at large:—
| Mr. J. Speakman | 136 | Mr. J. H. Jelliff | 123 | Mr. D. W. Warner | 104 | Mr. M. Matheson, | 39 | Mr. L. Richardson, | 20 | Mr. L. Mr. L. Richardson, 29
Mr. D. G. Markle, 27
Messrs. Speakman, Jelliff and Warner were declared elected directors at large for the ensuing year.

VICTORIA CONSTITUENCY

EDMONTON CONSTITUENCY Mr. C. Burnell 5
Mr. Long was declared elected director for Edmonton Constituency. STRATHCONA CONSTITUENCY

a clear majority.

RED DEER CONSTITUENCY

MACLEOD CONSTITUENCY
Messrs, Dixon and Fraser withdrew in favor of Mr. Quinsey, and the vote there-