Sovereign shall be Commander-in-Chief of the Land and Naval Militia Forces.

## Constitution of the Parliament.

VI. A General Legislature or Parliament is provided for the Federated Provinces, composed of a Legislative Council and a House of Commons.

VIII. Upper Canada is to be represented in the Legislative Council by 24 members, Lower Canada by 24 members, and the three Maritime Provinces by 24 members, of which Nova Scotia shall have 10, New Brunswick 10, and Prince Edward Island 4 members.

IX. The colony of Newfoundland will be entitled to enter the proposed Union, with a representation in the Legislative Council of 4 members.

X. The North-West territory, British Columbia, and Vancouver will be admitted into the Union, on such terms and conditions as the Parliament of the Federated Provinces shall deem equitable, and as shall receive the assent of her Majesty; and in the case of the Province of British Columbia or Vancouver, as shall be agreed to by the Legislature of such Province.

XI. The Members of the Legislative Council are to be appointed by the Crown under the Great Seal of the General Government, and shall hold office during life; if any Legisla tive Councillor shall, for two consecutive sessions of Parliament, fail to give his attendance in the said Council, his seat shall thereby become vacant.

XII. Members of the Legislative Council to be British subjects by birth or naturalization, of the full age of thirty years, to possess a continuous real property qualification of four thousand dollars over and above all incumbrances, and to be and continue worth that sum over and above their debts and liabilities, but in the case of Newfoundland