Allmand

Althouse

Axworthy

Berger Blackburn

Blaikie Boudria

Cassidy

Copps

Deans

(Brant)

Broadbent Caccia

de Corneille de Jong

Finestone

Angus

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nav.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Grisé

Hees

Hicks

Howie

James

Kindy

Lewis

Lopez

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Hnatyshyn, for the Minister of Finance) which was agreed to on the following division:

### (Division No. 181)

YEAS

Members

Andre Beatty Bernier Binns Bissonnette Blais Blenkarn Bouchard Bradley Brightwell Brisco Browes Cadieux Caldwell Cardiff Carney Champagne (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot) Champagne (Champlain) Charest Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clinch Coates Collins Comeau Cook Cooper Corbett Cossitt Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Crosbie (St. John's West) Crouse Darling Daubney Della Noce Desjardins Dick Domm Duguay Epp (Provencher) Fennell Ferland Fontaine Forrestall Fraleigh Fretz Friesen Gagnon Gass Gervais Girard

Gormley Graham Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hamelin Hardey Hawkes Hnatyshyn Holtmann Horner Hudon Jacques Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Kelleher Kempling Kilgour Ladouceur Landry Lanthier La Salle Lavton Lesick MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacKay Martin Mayer Mazankowski McCain McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) McGrath McInnes McKinnon McKnight McLean Minaker

Mitges Murta Nickerson Nielsen Nowlan Oberle O'Neil Oostrom Paproski Pennock Peterson Plamondon Plourde Porter Price Ravis Redway Reid Reimer Ricard St. Germain Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Siddon Sparrow Speyer Stackhouse Stevens Stewart Tardif (Charlesbourg) Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Valcourt Vankoughnet Vincent Weiner Wenman Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard Wise Witer-146

## Canada Elections Act

NAYS	
Members	
Frith Fulton Gagliano Garneau Gauther Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Heap Henderson Hoykins Hoydebo Jewett Johnston (Saint-Henri-Westmount) Kaplan MacLellan Marchi	Mitchell Nicholson (Trinity) Nunziata Nystrom Orlikow Penner Pépin Prud'homme Riis Robichaud Robinson Rodriguez Rompkey Rossi Waddell Young—47.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried. Bill read the third time and passed.

# PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS—PUBLIC BILLS

[English]

### **CANADA ELECTIONS ACT**

#### **MEASURE TO AMEND**

Mr. John R. Rodriguez (Nickel Belt) moved that Bill C-246, an Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (leave of absence), be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections.

He said: Mr. Speaker, the purpose of Bill C-246 is to amend the Canada Elections Act to allow employees covered by Part III of the Canada Labour Code to have extended leave of absence provisions if they are candidates running in a federal election campaign and are successfully elected as a Member of the House of Commons.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Order, please. This is your Private Members' Hour.

Mr. Rodriguez: Mr. Speaker, there is a reason why I brought this particular Bill to the attention of the House for debate. I would hope that Members of the government side would not engage in their usual practice of talking out private Members' Bills. I believe that this Bill involves a very serious principle. The Bill goes to the very core of a democratic society which is open, free and egalitarian in most respects. We have the kind of society in which the citizens elect those who will govern them. The freedom of citizens to elect those who shall govern them is the very hub of a democratic society. There-