The report of the committee that was appointed to deal with the matter of a teachers' federation was then laid before the meeting by Mr. T. M. Maguire. The report is as follows:

Your committee, appointed at the 1918 meeting to consider the matter of the formation of a teachers' federation, beg to report that in their opinion the formation of such federation would promote the interests of the teaching profession. As, however, since the appointment of your committee, steps have been taken to organize a federation, it is thought advisable that the matter should be presented to this Association for the information of its members by those who are identified with the movement, and your committee recommend that the officers of the federation be requested to explain the purposes and scope of the new organization.

Mr. Maguire, seconded by Mr. Elliott, moved the adoption of the report. The adoption was carried.

Mr. E. K. Marshall then reported for the Federation of Teachers.

Mr. Marshall said that the purpose of the organization was to get the teachers all over the country into a closer organization. Local associations were to be formed in all parts of the province. These would be represented by delegates at a larger meeting held at some central point. He thought that the M.E.A. was for inspiration, and the local associations and the meeting of representatives for more practical purposes.

Mr. Lang wished to knew what relation was to exist between the M.E.A. and the

new body:

Mr. Marshall said that there was no intention that the new body should clash with the

older organization.

The Chairman now announced that a message had been sent by the executive to the The message executive of the Federation. asked the executive of the Federation as to what plan the Federation would consent to become a unit of the M.E.A. Mr. Neelin and Mr. Little had agreed to see that the request was brought before the executive of the Federation. Mr. Neelin presented the following reply from the executive of the Federation: "The Federation acknowledges the receipt

of the communication, and promise to lay the matter before the local associations, to give it due and thorough consideration, and hope to be able to give a definite answer at a future meeting of the M.E.A."

It was moved by Mr. C. W. Laidlaw, seconded by Mr. Garratt, that we appoint a committee to meet with a similar committee of the Federation for the purpose of planning some means of getting the M.E.A. and the Federation together. The motion was car-Federation together. The motion was carried. The names of Messrs. Gordon. White-Elliott, Hearn and Morrison were accepted by the meeting as the members of the com-

Mr. Huntley and Miss Stewart both took the ground that there was not necessarily

any antagonism between the two organizations.

The chairman then brought the meeting back to the discussion of the report of the committee on minimum salaries.

Mr. Denike pointed out that if the motion to refer the matter to the Federation were to carry the whole matter would be delayed, and what had been done already would be Dr. W. A. McInpractically thrown away. tyre supported this view.

The report of the committee was then

adopted.

Mr. Elliott, seconded by Mr. Dakin, moved that the executive nominate two teaching members of the M.E.A. to act on the proposed commission. Carried.

The report of the nominating committee was presented by Mr. Morrison, who moved its adoption, seconded by Miss R. Hall. The report is as follows:

Report of the Nominating Committee—Honorary President, Hon. R. S. Thornton; President, Supt. A. White, Brandon; 1st Vice, A. E. Hearn, Winnipeg; 2nd Vice, Miss J. M. Brown, Winnipeg; Secretary, F. D. Harris; Winnipeg; Treasurer, E. J. Motley, Winnipeg; Auditor, R. H. Smith, Winnipeg.

Executive—J. W. Gordon, Manitou (exofficio); S. H. Forrest, Souris (ex-officio); H. W. Cox-Smith, High Bluff (ex-officio); W. H. W. Cox-Smith, High Blull (ex-order), W. Beer, Brandon; S. Burland, Stonewall; Miss A. Clarke, Brandon; Miss F. H. Cochrane, Hamiota; R. Goulet, St. Boniface; Miss Yemen, Souris; T. W. Jackson, Agricultural College; Miss M. Johnson, Hazel Ridge; Bro. Large Finls St. Posiface: E. A. Lygter Tyn-Joseph Fink, St. Boniface; F. A. Justus, Tyndal; S. E. Lang, Winnipeg; E. K. Marshall, Portage la Prairie; W. A. McIntyre, Winnipeg; Miss E. Moore, Winnipeg; T. A. Neelin, Winnipeg; S. T. Newton, Winnipeg; E. D. Parker, Winnipeg; A. J. Perry, University of Manitoba; J. C. Pincock, Winnipeg; Miss Irene Seale, Dauphin; W. J. Sisler, Winnipeg; H. A. Stokes, Selkirk; B. A. Tingley, Brandon; L. H. Warren, University of Manitoba; John Wolkoff, Winkler; D. S. Woods, Miami; D. J. Wright, Winnipeg.

The report of the committee was adopted, and the secretary instructed to cast a ballot. The meeting adjourned about 1.15 p.m.

without being able to finish the business. At the close of the session at the Isaac

Brock School business was resumed.

The Committee on Resolutions brought in treir report.

The resolutions are as follows:

Resolutions

1. That the Secretary of this Association be instructed to appropriately convey our hearty thanks to those who contributed to our programme, especially to those outside our own ranks: to the Women Teachers' Club, to the Schoolmasters' Club, to the Imperial Order of the Daughters of the Empire. to the Winnipeg School Board and St. Stephen's Church for the privileges and courtesies ex-