Previous winners of this award are Belgian poet Geo Norge, who received the inaugural prize in 1971; Canadian poet Gaston Miron, recipient in 1972; Belgian writer Suzanne Lilar in 1973; Canadian novelist Réjean Ducharme (in 1974) Pierre Mertens of Belgium (in 1975), Canadian novelist and playwright Marie-Claire Blais (in 1976), Belgian novelist Marcel Moreau (in 1977); and, last year, Canadian writer Jacques Godbout.

- 30 -

For further information:

Krystyna Chelminska Cultural Affairs Division Department of External Affairs Tel: (613) 992-9307

Information Service Canada Council Tel: (613) 237-3400