Department of Finance
External Aid Office
Department of External Affairs

Invitations to the Conference have been issued by the Government of Canada and it is expected that approximately 200 delegates will represent the following Governments at the Conference: Antigua, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Basutoland, Bechuanaland, Bermuda, Britain, British Guiana, Ceylon, Dominica, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, New Zealand, Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Pakistan, St. Lucia, Sierra Leone, Federation of South Arabia, Southern Rhodesia, Tonga, United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda and Western Samoa.

Delegates to the Ottawa Conference will study progress that has been made since the New Delhi Conference, held in January 1962, in present areas of co-operation such as scholarships, the supply and training of teachers, the provision of textbooks and the holding of conferences of experts. Among the new topics which will be discussed are the problems of adult illiteracy, co-operative arrangements for the planning and development of Commonwealth educational institutions and makes media techniques and problems.