K. What are Canada's Multilateral Commitments and How do They Relate to the ECL?

1. COCOM

From 1950 to 1994 Canada was a member of the Coordinating Committee for Multilateral Strategic Export Controls (COCOM). On March 31, 1994 COCOM ceased to exist. At that time COCOM members agreed to establish a new multilateral arrangement. The new arrangement is known as the "Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-use Goods and Technologies".

2. Wassenaar Arrangement (ECL Groups 1 and 2)

The Wassenaar Arrangement (WA) was established in order to contribute to regional and international security and stability, by promoting transparency and greater responsibility in transfers of conventional arms and dual-use goods and technologies, thus preventing destabilizing accumulations. The thirty-three participating states of the WA will seek to ensure that transfers of these items do not contribute to the development or enhancement of military capabilities which undermine these goals, and are not diverted to support such capabilities.

The WA will complement and reinforce, with minimal duplication, the existing control regimes for weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems. This arrangement is also intended to enhance cooperation to prevent the acquisition of armaments and sensitive dual-use items for military end-uses, if the situation in a region or the behaviour of a state is, or becomes, a cause for serious concern to the participating states. Finally, it will not be directed against any state or group of states and will not impede bona fide civil transactions. ECL Group 1 comprises dual-purpose goods and technologies that have both civilian and military application. ECL Group 2 comprises goods and technologies that are specially designed or modified for military purposes. The current members of the WA include:

Argentina	Denmark	Italy	Poland	Sweden
Australia	Finland	Japan	Portugal	Switzerland
Austria	France	Korea, Republic of	Romania	Turkey
Belgium	Germany	Luxembourg	Russian Federation	Ukraine
Bulgaria	Greece	Netherlands	Slovak Republic	United Kingdom
Canada	Hungary	New Zealand	Spain	United States
Czech Republic	Ireland	Norway		

3. Nuclear Non-proliferation (ECL Groups 3 and 4)

Canada has a long-standing nuclear non-proliferation policy which is designed, *inter alia*, to ensure that Canada's nuclear exports are not used for any nuclear explosive purpose. Canada has concluded with its nuclear trading partners bilateral cooperation agreements in which there are reciprocal commitments.

As a party to the Treaty on the Non-proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) that came into force in 1970, Canada is obliged not to provide source or special fissionable material, or equipment or material especially designed or prepared for the processing, use or production of special fissionable material to any non-nuclear weapon state (NNWS) for peaceful purposes unless the source or special fissionable material is subject to International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) safeguards. In the early 1970's, Canada, as a member of a group of states that became known as the Zangger Committee, adopted a common understanding with respect to the implementation of this commitment that included an elaboration of those nuclear goods requiring the application of IAEA safeguards.